Day Twenty-Three; Friday, March 28 '08


Advertisement
Ghana's flag
Africa » Ghana » Volta » Ho
March 28th 2008
Published: March 31st 2008
Edit Blog Post

Woke up and ran around four miles which actually felt a lot better than I expected. It's super hard to get yourself motivated enough to run in the morning, especially when you wake up dripping sweat daily.

Our tro-tro to Cape Coast left at 8:30. Lo and behold, I forgot my bathing suit, so we had to turn around 😊 Right before we arrived in Accra (the capital of Ghana and halfway point to Cape Coast) we saw three HUGE wild baboons hanging out on the side of the road. It's weird to think stuff like that is normal here. We finally arrived in Accra after a little over three hours and sat in over an hour of traffic. I honestly thought I was going to have an anxiety attack. What kept me sane was actually all of the traffic peddlers standing in the middle of the highway selling maps of Ghana, kleenex, birds, PURE WATER (you'll have to ask me to say it like they do when I get back), etc. Pretty entertaining.

We FINALLY arrived at Frankie's, an American place. I ordered a double cheeseburger and I must say, it was the best food I've had in a long time. Pete said I was glowing to the point of pure bliss. I renamed the burger "The Shatner" for other reasons 😊 After the burger I ordered six scoops of ice cream and was pretty disappointed as it tasted pretty weird.

We almost hit a little girl in the midst of terrible traffic while leaving Accra. She darted across the road in front of our car. I don't think I've really ever understood what "whiplash" is. The tro-tro ride lasted another five hours. Not fun.

When we finally arrived, it was absolutely worth the 9+ hour trip. The stars bowl around the entire sky. The ocean was breathtaking. This could have been the most content I've been so far in Ghana.

We ate dinner on the beach under the moonlight (I had macaroni and cheese off of the kids menu 😊 and then sat under the stars and had some "cocktails." There were like a million shooting stars that night. I've never seen so many at one time.

I gave my roommates a little trouble when we went to bed...I apparently snored like crazy and talked in my sleep the entire night...oh well.

Advertisement



1st April 2008

Snoring
YOU DO TALK IN YOUR SLEEP!!!! I plum forgot about that. Remember when you threw up in a garbage bag in my friend Shauns car? A garbage bag that I got from OC may I remind you and then threw it out the car door while we were in motion....Oh Kacie, how I love thee

Tot: 0.072s; Tpl: 0.019s; cc: 5; qc: 44; dbt: 0.0412s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb