Ha ha ha!


Advertisement
Ghana's flag
Africa » Ghana » Greater Accra
August 9th 2010
Published: August 9th 2010
Edit Blog Post

I never thought that I would start blogging but here I am. I have started this blog partly because I would like to keep contact with my beautiful friends but also as therapy. As some of you know Accra can be quite intense and to spend ten months there will probably make me freak out once in a while hence this blog. Hopefully one or two of you might read it occasionally, who knows?

Right now I am still sitting in Stockholm, Sweden hoping that the lap top will make it for a couple of weeks more. The other computer is on its way to Ghana, or rather stuck in Akalla since we have not finished packing yet. We´ve had so much help from Ghanaians in the diaspora who either are happy that we are making this step for the sake of our family or just want to get rid of us. Some of them have just made it through the Sahara desert on foot and across the Mediterranean Sea on over loaded boats just to see us off. The difference is that we will not pass through Libya though and will not have to spend 18 months incarcerated in Malta or stay in a container hoping for the best. At least not this time.

Today is a busy day, just as all other days recently. Buying some food that will be shipped to Tema, getting Maalia a couple of injections at the vaccination clinic, sending the passport to the Ghanaian Embassy in Denmark and handing in the paper work to the shipping agency, just to mention a few. It is always exciting to see whether the staff at the Embassy will "misplace" the passports of Teddy, Aron and perhaps Maalia. The three that could pass as Ghanaians in their passports. Why that would happen? I might tell you some other time when I am in the middle of agents and connection men.

Leaving a predictable life style to enter an unpredictable one is really my cup of tea. The question I get all the time from people around me is "What are you going to do in Ghana?". Well I don´t have an answer to that, since there is one thing that is for sure. In Accra nothing turns out the way you plan it so don´t spend too much time and energy to try to organise your life from the outside. It never works.
Problem no 1: The tenant of the house we are going to stay in for the first few months has not moved yet. He has not paid the rent for one year and because he does not believe that we are coming he has decided to stay. Yet we are his landlords and he does not even live in the house but uses it as his office. Now we have to borrow a house until we can get him out. He is a quite famous guy in Ghana so it shouldn´t be too difficult for him to find a new office as long as he is paying the rent.
I guess we will have to stay in that container anyway.



Advertisement



Tot: 0.071s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 9; qc: 48; dbt: 0.0376s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb