Packed & Ready to GO!


Advertisement
Ghana's flag
Africa » Ghana » Greater Accra » Legon
July 24th 2009
Published: July 24th 2009
Edit Blog Post

Total Distance: 0 miles / 0 kmMouse: 0,0


Wow, I can’t believe that I will be in Ghana in 1 week! It seems like I have been preparing for this day forever and all the hard work in getting to this point is finally being rewarded. I feel like I have prepared my self as much as possible for the culture shock both mentally and physically that I will experience for the next 5 1/2 months of my life. I am so excited for this adventure and I know that I will grow so much from this educational experience both personally and professionally.

I often find that I am asked "Why are you going to Ghana, of all the places in the world why Ghana?" To answer that I am going to Ghana because I am passionate about the struggles that displaced people of Africa are facing and I feel that Ghana will offer me that important stepping stone to familiarize myself with the culture and environment of an African country. I am also going to Ghana because I want to experience a culture so vastly different from American culture so that I am able to have a better understanding of what life is like for people that are living outside the everyday comforts that many Americans take for granted.

This trip will test me in many ways, and I look forward to the challenges that I will face from bargaining with tro-tro (taxi) drivers, staying healthy, the Ghanaian education system, the heat, wildlife, and of course the local language and customs, as well as being over 5000 miles away from home.


Advertisement



25th July 2009

I hope you have a great time! Central wont be the same without you. -Joe
30th July 2009

All the best of luck and safety on your adventure!
Jennifer, What a great adventure you are setting out on! I am going to think of you often and send my good vibes to you so that you have a great time, learn a ton and be safe! Love, U-G

Tot: 0.09s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 5; qc: 56; dbt: 0.0493s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb