So Long America, Hello Ghana!!


Advertisement
Ghana's flag
Africa » Ghana » Greater Accra » Legon
January 14th 2009
Published: January 15th 2009
Edit Blog Post

Wow...I'm in Ghana. It still hasn't fully set in just yet! Okay, so I have about a 20 stories to tell and I've only been gone for four days. Unfortunately this is my third try at this, because the internet here is not just slow and limited, but it's also a little fickle too. I'm also on the clock right now so I'm going to have to make this short. I promise that my next blog will be much longer, more detail, less scatter brained with the possibility of some pictures and maybe even a video.

Alright so, flights went really well, got through security no problem, no turbulence or cancellations, in fact everything was really smooth...until I got to JFK. So what was originally supposed to be a three hour layover turned into eight hours. First our flight was delayed an hour and when it finally did come in, they had to defrost it. Apparently when the plane flew through the clouds the condensation on the wings froze creating an extremely hazardous situation. Who knew? Sooooo, they had to call in the guys to defrost the wings, no prob...except they all had gone home at that point...which was about 1:30am...and we should have left at 10:00pm...good times. But that aside, let me say that British Airways is definitely the way to go. Good food, good service, free coffee and tea, wide selection of TV shows, Movies, and music, complimentary eye masks, tooth brushes, and socks, you know, all the good stuff!

It was really great when I finally did arrive in London because I was able to meet up with a lot of people from ISEP (the program I'm traveling with). It was such an awesome experience to be surrounded by people who were just as excited as me about this trip...if not more! The trip to Ghana from London was long but the people I'm traveling with made it a wonderful experience.

We arrived in Accra, at about 9:15 pm, you could tell because as soon as we descended and went under the clouds you could see all of the city lights...and the windows fogged up because of all the humidity.

First Impressions of Ghana? Beautiful. It is simply gorgeous! Sunny blue skies, lush green trees, tropically warm temperatures, comforting cool breezes, and tons of smiling friendly faces. The University of Ghana is MASSIVE!!! We had a tour of the campus today, and by tour I mean we pointed out about a quarter of the buildings and walked by the rest. We started around 1:00 pm and didn't finish until 6:00pm. I'm pretty sure that if I wasn't eating so many carbs and starches, I'd lose twenty pounds from just sweating and walking. But that is definitely all part of the Ghanaian charm. Every day is new and exciting, the campus is beautiful, and the people are friendly and helpful. Time here just seems to melt away. No one's in a rush, everything is really relaxed. And me being the kind of guy I am, fit right in. I can tell this semester will see the return to my every other day nap schedule! My one big regret is not packing a hammock, because this is a premium environment! And the people here are so warm and helpful. When we get back to our Hostel the women at the front desk always say "welcome home!" Does it get any better?

For the most part lectures and speakers have made up orientation. Our first real travel experiences won't happen until this weekend, but I'm still having the time of my life. The people I'm traveling with are all really nice, fun and exciting. My Ghanaian roommate should be arriving this weekend also, so that will be another great contact that I'll have pretty soon. I can already tell this is going to be a great semester!

So yeah, lots of highs, there have been some lows here and there, but nothing too major. I'm really sorry that this took so long guys, like I said, Ghanaian Internet = slow, fickle, unreliable...all that stuff. So I'm not going to promise you an exact date as to when my next entry will be. At any rate, I'm doing great, and having the time of my life, miss you all, and I hope that life is treating you all well!

Until we meet again, stay frosty

Jonathan

p.s.

My new ISEP name is Johnny Kansas...pretty sweet, huh? Don't worry, I know you're all jealous 😉









Advertisement



15th January 2009

yeah Johnny Kansas. i like the sound of that. it sounds like the name of a movie star. i am glad to hear you made it to Ghana safely and things are going great. i am excited about reading the next post. take care and have a fantastic time. p.s. take a lot of pictures. i can scrapbook them for you when you return home :) ciao! Q
16th January 2009

Hey Jon!
So good to hear from you! What an adventure so far. Blessings and much love, MoM
16th January 2009

I'm so stinking excited for you JGR...
sounds like all is well. Don't worry too much about making sure you keep in touch with everyone back home. Just focus on enjoying yourself and documenting your time, whether that is with pictures, videos or journaling. You can catch us all up later. Just make sure that you are making it memorable for you. Love ya mate!
16th January 2009

Stay Frosty
James, I love your sign off stay frosty, and this morning we see a fresh coating of snow on the ground, you can call it frosty. I am excited for you and your prospects. Keep a close eye on the Lord and stay near to Him and He will make your path straight, and He knows the desires of your heart. We love you here and pray you have a great day, and a grand tommorrow. Steve
16th January 2009

Jon, your mom showed me this website, so just wanted to say "hi". how wonderful for you that you get to have this great experience. Wishing you the best. Sue Colley
16th January 2009

Soooo happy for u
Hey Jon! I am soooo happy to see that you are able to see a wonderful part of the world. I'm also excited to read about your travels. I have a friend from Uganda and I gave her this site so she can hear all about her wonderful country. I know you'll have the time of your life. We're proud of you, love you and are praying for you. James and Nancy
18th January 2009

finally!
FINALLY! you have no idea how long it took me to find out how to comment on your blog. lol. Hey J-Riv!! well, I guess I don't need to ask how ghana is cause you've already said it's awesome! You're gonna have the best time up there. Sounds weird comming from a pesimist like me right? haha. take care buddy, and don't leave out a single detail. make sure you regularly keep us updated. Peace out Yo!!!! Evan D.!!!!
19th January 2009

Sounds like you are having fun! We'll stay cold back home if you promise to stay warm over there in Ghana! It is nice hearing from you, if you have time be sure to feel us in on your trip, but if you don't just keep having fun, we'll be here waiting ^_^
21st January 2009

hey! i read your most recent blog before this one... but about the hammock, you can definitely try your bartering skills to get one :) glad to know you are having fun there!

Tot: 0.147s; Tpl: 0.013s; cc: 17; qc: 63; dbt: 0.0956s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.2mb