First full day in Africa, reflections, shout outs


Advertisement
Ghana's flag
Africa » Ghana » Greater Accra » Legon
February 9th 2008
Published: February 22nd 2008
Edit Blog Post

Feb 9, 2008 - 11:43 p.m.
The end of my first full day in my new home in Ghana. I’m extremely tired even after a short nap this evening. The sun really takes it out of you. Although, the heat and humidity isn’t nearly as bad as it could be, especially since we have such good fans in our rooms. I am greatly looking forward to building up a tolerance to the heat, as well as, falling into a routine. Today we toured the extensive campus of the University (including about 16 billion “Schools of…” I very much like my experience so far of the people of Ghana. They are very organic, friendly and helpful. Tomorrow, we will be going to a marketplace called Madina. Although I was really nervous for the trip at first, I now can’t wait for my first experience of Ghana, outside the University.

Notes Upon Rereading:
As would be believed, the massive heat and humidity is always a factor, only combatable by massive quantities of bottled water and sweat rags which everyone here owns. Besides these measures, you have to get used to being somewhat gross usually, although, I actually do feel like it is becoming much less of a factor. I have this theory that every time I sweat here I lose a little bit of my American-ness and get a certain immunity to the heat. Needless to say, these last couple weeks I have been getting a LOT of immunity : b
The good news is that there are these amazing “Fanmilk” products which are amazing cures to the heat. The delicacy (believe me, it is) hand-sized frozen chocolate milk, but infinitely better. You bite off the top corner and then slowly suck the cold milk out as it thaws. The true mystery is that, unlike an American “icy” freezer pop, no matter how much liquid you drink, there is always an adequate supply of chocolate at the end of the treat. None of this silly eating ice at the end business.

Shout outs:
Lauren and I really missed Michael in the beginning of our stay here. We both laughed thinking how much he would complain ; b The heat, the walking ten miles everywhere electricity and water running out hahaha. We’d like you here anyway.
Adam on the other hand, would be in the zone here, absolutely Love it. The people, the food, the realness of it all. All the things I Love about it I think. Everything just seems less petty and more meaningful.
We’ve seen a lot of potential children for Rawah… The markets are full of insanely cute babies playing on the ground, or more likely, on their mothers’ backs via a colorful piece of cloth around the waist. They’re incredibly cute, trying to get comfortable sleeping while mommies run run around with things on their heads trying to sell their ware. I wish I could get some pictures, but we’re being very careful right now not to attract any extra attention or give people extra reasons to mug and/or rape us : b



Advertisement



23rd February 2008

babies!
aww babies! they sound soooo adorable, i want to play with them! but as a good friend, i'll give you some time to get some pics of them so you don't get mugged or raped :P and ps... "every time I sweat here I lose a little bit of my American-ness and get a certain immunity to the heat" - hahah you dork, at least it's warm there... it's so cold over here!! we miss you!!!!! :)

Tot: 0.073s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 10; qc: 48; dbt: 0.0422s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb