Life in Little Liberia


Advertisement
Ghana's flag
Africa » Ghana » Greater Accra » Accra
June 13th 2006
Published: October 27th 2006
Edit Blog Post

Rec TimeRec TimeRec Time

One of the kids throwing and catching a beach ball we brought over for them on the way to the recreation field. In order to get to the field all the kids have to tramp through the wet and disease infested trash dump, most with bare feet (on which they usually have a couple open cuts)
I awoke this morning to the sound of a young girl scraming bloody murder. I peaked out through the bars and mosquito net in my window and saw a half naked young girl getting beating with a stick on the front porch of our neighbours. Our water guy (the person who gets the water from out well for our bucket showers), who was between me and our neighbours and thought i was looking at him, cheerfull waved and greeted me good morning, completly oblivious to the action going on behind him. Later, as when i left to go to work, i noticed that she was tied up in front of their house.
Comfort

Today we were set to do sewage cleanup again, yum! After doing this job i don't think there is anything that can gross me out again! The camp is drained by a system of open sewers and we pick a certain area in camp and set about clearing all of the trash out of the sewer and then digging any sedements that are blocking water flow. Our goal is to keep water flowing so that Malaria carrying mosquitoes don't
Burning TrashBurning TrashBurning Trash

We figured burning was the best option, either that or risk dieases outbreaks. I hate to burn it like this though because it is the worst way. Since it burns at low temperatures (as opposed to the high temperatures in an incinerator) you get a lot of toxic fumes (i'm sure there's alot more to it than that, but thats just what i remember from Chem class!)
have any place to lay their eggs (they need stagnant water). The water flowing through these drains is raw, raw sewage, straight from the toilet. Sometimes, people who can't afford toilets simply drop their pants right over the drain and do their business in front of everyone, including us who then have ot shovel it out and put it to the side (where people walk, but its the better of the two options). I can't even begin to desribe the smell that comes from raw
sewage- human feceas, mixing with rotting garbage (and usually a few small dead animals and condoms, which isa good sign cause it means people are using them!), all festering under the baking tropical sun and humidity (sorry if your eating!). We also do spraying for mosquitos, mice, roaches and such in peoples rooms, toilets and showers. Most peoples toilets are out-house style, with just a hole in the bottom where the waste goes. We went into one toilet today to spray and noticed that the hole had been entirly filled up to the brim with crap (and the hole is prolly 10feet deep- thats alot of crap!), then as we went in to spray i noticed that something was not right- it was moving! It was almost a solid mass of maggots and worms mixed in with the sewage, it was probabl the closet i have come to vomiting yet! But luckly i had my dig camera on me and i just had to take a video, so if anyone is interested when i get back....

Sorry, i promise my posts wont be so disgusting in the future, but i really had to share that with you all!

Oh, World Refugee Awarness day is coming up on June 20th, i had never heard of it before and im not exactly sure what its all about- but, be aware!

Advertisement



29th October 2006

Liberia
I have been trying to find help for a group of people living in a camp in Harbel for the last three years now. What I can't believe is that no one seems truly interested in all that the people of Liberia are and have been going through. With so much going on in our world today, it's so hard to get anyone's attention on Liberia. Infact, you wouldn't believe how many people, educated people, have to ask me where Liberia is located. People shouldn't still be starving when the war has been over for some time now. Restrictions of trade should be lifted if we're going to expect Liberians to help themselves to a better life. The world turns and everyone just minds their own business as if what goes on quietly isn't going on at all. I'm sorry but I'm just so tired of it all ! I want so much to do something, anything to help, but I have nothing of my own to do anything with and those who could help, just don't listen. I might be rambling here, sorry if I am. Hard to even find those online who understand the refugee camps, the crime, the hunger, the deseases, the lack of medicine and money and help. I know there is some amount of help, but not enough for the number of people in need. Just had to find someplace to get this off my chest I suppose. I wish your blog got around to many more people because discusting or not about the dranage problems, people need to know the truth of what humans must go through in third world countries. The United States bought Liberia years ago. The Liberians seem to love the U.S. and it really conflicts in my mind why when they receive so little help from us here. I even tried to bring a pastor from Harbel here so that he could tell the story first hand to those around me who might be of help if they could hear him, but.....I haven't the money to even get him here so what do I do.....only God knows. Thanks for listening, or should I say, reading and thaks for your blog. I hope you write more as time goes by. Ama

Tot: 0.08s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 5; qc: 44; dbt: 0.0565s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb