My last entry from Ghana


Advertisement
Ghana's flag
Africa » Ghana » Greater Accra » Accra
October 8th 2006
Published: October 8th 2006
Edit Blog Post

I'm sore today. Yesterday I spent 5 hours up at Amasaman - the Orphanage site, and I learned how to mix sand and cement, make bricks, and carry them. I carried over 15, which doesn't sound like a lot but theyre VERY heavy. They hired 4 workers, who worked their butts off friday evening for 6 hours without barely breaks and yesterday we finished off the bricks, We only got there around 1 because we made lunch and had to take tro tro up there, which takes about a 1/2 hour 45 min. depending on how much they stop to pick up and drop people off. But the workers had started around 7:30 AM had no more than 1/2 break when we came with lunch then worked until 6:30 PM. Its amaising how hard they can work, especially because you can't even imagine how hot it was yesterday, A) they were working in the sun, which you sweat from places you didn't know you could sweat from just standing. and B) they worked an 11 hour day for no more than 5 or 6 USD. not an hour. altogether for the DAY. They were very tired at the end of the day. I have so much respect for the work ethic they have here. One of the workers in particular especially, he stayed strong until the end. So that was my day yesterday. the soreness I feel doesn't even measure up to what I feel I could have done. But it feels good to have helped and literally create the building blocks to an orphanage. I wish i could stay longer to see it be finished. Stacy's a trooper and was there helping out both days.

Tomorrow we go visit the Volta region as a last 3 day trip before I go home. We're visiting a monkey sanctuary and climbing up a mountain. The monkey sanctuary is supposed to be awesome, because monkeys climb all over you. I really can only imagine at this point but I still have lots of picture space, so i'm going to take plenty, and take tid bits of video from here and there too.

I'll have thursday and most of friday to relax, say goodbyes and pack.
I'm going to miss it here. It was an experience I couldn't even have imagined, and better than I could have hoped for.


http://www.kodakgallery.com/Slideshow.jsp?&conn_speed=1&collid=33215931311.48004956411.1160323002238&mode=fromsite

try this link for the new photos I think i did it wrong last time



Advertisement



17th October 2006

Help! Planning a trip to Ghana in January
Hi Laura! Just found your blog today and have been loving reading about your adventures! I wonder if you have any preparation tips for me before I leave for Accra on january 16. We, my flat mate Jedda and I, are participating in a drum/ dance course that lasts a month. We hope to travel around a bit afterwards, meet some locals and check out some schools as we are both studying education.... unfortunately it'll be a bit of a budget trip though. Any suggestions on the best budget accomodation? Food? Travel? What type of camera is best to take (digital or battery/film), where are the best places to up load photo's etc. Is there an acceptable 'dress' conduct?. How did you get yourself into such a great position working with and teaching children english? Thanks so much again for sharing your experiences! Its made me so excited! Hope to hear from you soon Breony

Tot: 0.066s; Tpl: 0.008s; cc: 12; qc: 51; dbt: 0.0373s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb