FINALLY HERE!


Advertisement
Ghana's flag
Africa » Ghana » Greater Accra » Accra
October 5th 2006
Published: October 5th 2006
Edit Blog Post

I've finally arrived in Accra, the capital of Ghana. We arrived on Monday night, just as the sun was beginning to set. It's pretty hot, but extremely humid--and it's supposed to be the dry season! It's the kind of humid where you're always sticky, and the kind of hot where you just have to somehow become accustomed to the putrid smell coming from your armpits. Other than that, I'm having a really great time, so far. Accra is a busy city, full of people, and life! The sights, the smells, the sounds--every step is a new experience. We've had a wonderful man named Ofori take us around Accra to get us familiar with the Ghanaian way of life. The marketplace is a hectic but exciting place. Everywhere people are selling all sorts of things and of course, we basically look like walking ATMs. Women and men pass us by carrying immense loads on their heads, and I thought I had it hard portaging those canoes! Kids point at us and shout "Obruni! Obruni!" which means, "White person!" So far we've had two marriage proposals, both to Katrina--that girl's a fox! A man crossed his two forefingers towards me, which is a symbol for "I love you." A little girl walked by me, grabbed my hand, and said something in her language--Ofori later told me she said I remided her of her mother. (What?!?) The food is very spicy but full of flavour. There's banku: a doughlike blob that you dip into light soup and swallow, not chew; fufu: the same as banku only it's made of cassava and plantains or yam; jollof: my favourite so far, a rice dish that's mixed with some stew; and red red: plantains and beans. There are so many things to see, you have to be extra careful that you don't fall into the metre-deep gutters. One of our group members has already gone down. Riding the tro-tro hasn't been much trouble--yet. A tro-tro is like a bus, but more like a van, that you can stuff anywhere from 10 to 21 people in, at the least. It's sweaty and uncomfortable, but it gets you where you need to be. We're staying in a hostel in Osu, which is kind of the tourist district, so we've seen a few other tourists, but not many. You might think that Ghana isn't exactly a hotspot for vacation destinations, but just because you probably haven't heard of it before doesn't mean it's boring. However, I've only been here for three days, just wait until the message I write three months in. We met two guys--don't worry, we don't stay out late after dark, or sometimes even after dark at all--who are from Burkina Faso. They're musicians/dancers/performers, and they've traveled around parts of Burkina, Mali, Ghana, and other places performing. They also work with orphans, teaching them skills to try to get them off the streets and doing something. They're really interesting guys, and they've said some really interesting things, but they speak French so some of the stuff might've gotten lost in translation. Thank goodness we have Elisha who's fluent in French, and Sarah and Katrina can speak it pretty well too. I've been trying my best, and poor Amy doesn't get much of it at all. They were talking about doing theatric dance performances, and I told them I was really interested in theatre. They told me that they would teach me how to dance at their performance we're going to see tomorrow night. Let's just say I believe my turn to win the Stupid Obruni Award will be then. Tomorrow night there will be another big performance--JAY-Z! The tickets cost a million cedi, which is sort of about $100, so we're definitely not going. Of everything so far, I'd have to say that the pineapple is the best thing I've experienced. It's white on the inside, which is probably how it's supposed to be, and soooo sweet and delicious. No need for sugar or whipped cream, and that's coming from me! I've been doing pretty well with the food situation so far, no intense cravings for ice cream or chocolate--yet. The guidebook is right when it says that Ghanaians are very friendly. We've been welcomed (Akwaaba) with smiles, or they're just making fun of us when we try to speak their language. We will be traveling to Battor on Saturday, where we'll be learning the language of Ewe and from there we'll begin our stay in the villages. There probably won't be another update until November or December, but I feel I will have a lot of free time to write letters. If anyone would like me to write them a letter, please send your mailing address to: stephaniecozzette@hotmail.com. But I won't get that until the next time I'm at a computer. So until then, I wish you all well.

Advertisement



6th October 2006

wow it sounds like a whole different world! I hope things are going well for you - they sound like they are! I was just wondering what organization you're traveling with? I'm trying to plan an inernational year of some kind and I'm exploring my options. I'll be thinking about you during thanksgiving this weekend! -B
13th November 2006

hi Brenna
the organization is called One World Global Education and the website (i think) is www.oneworlded.com from my experience so far, i would recommend it, but i will tell you everything when we're both back home.
17th November 2006

Want to know too
Hi Stephanie, what you're doing sounds absolutely awesome! Not exactly comparable with what "normal" backpackers do, good on you for doing this! I'd like to know too what organisation you're traveling with. Would be thrilled if you could give me some info on that. Thanks heaps, enjoy your time and take good care! Cheers, Christina P.S. my email is christina.travelbug@hotmail.com

Tot: 0.15s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 10; qc: 45; dbt: 0.1081s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb