Don't eat the chicken sandwiches in Cape Coast


Advertisement
Ghana's flag
Africa » Ghana » Greater Accra » Accra
September 24th 2006
Published: September 24th 2006
Edit Blog Post

yesterday night we got back from Cape coast, its even more beautiful than Accra. Its less congested, smaller city. The people are a little more pushy though. For my first meal I ordered a chicken sandwich, I was kind of worried about it when it came but I was starving and I wasn't going to change, after all I hadn't any problems with any of the food that was prepared for me at home. We stayed in a little hut RIGHT on the beach, I have plenty of pictures but you won't get to see them until I come home ;-( sorry, I downloaded more of the ones I got onto cd though on the Kodak site. So anyways, on saturday morning the day we went to see Elimna castle which we could see from our huts, only a walk away, my stomach was feeling a little grumbly, I had a hard time going through the Elimna castle tour but I wanted to see everything so I didn't back out. Its a beautiful castle unfortunately in a tragic way It was so unreal standing in a place where so many people were tortured and died. It was hard not to cry for them, especially when we stepped into the Containment cell where slaves were put when they tried to fight back, they weren't given any food or water and had to stay in complete darkness. the main shut off door was taken out awhile ago, but our guide closed the door. We still had a bit of light I couldn't imagine being shut off in there with probably not much oxygen either. It was so. . . I don't even know If i have the right words to explain it.

After the castle I was still feeling really crummy, stomach wise, I took an asprin, and we headed to Kakum by taxi. At Kakum we took a hike up a hill through the rainforest! It was soo amazing and beautiful. I was scared shitless on the canopy walk but it was so liberating. I could barely look down but made sure I did. The highest point was 40 m from the ground. and the width of the bridge was no longer than a foot wide. and the bridge was so shaky especially when the second person got one. I didnt' see much wildlife but the view was incredible. I drank from a coconut on the way down the mountain. It strangely didn't taste much like the coconut taste i know, but it was good.

So what came out of eating that chicken sandwich was a "runny stomach" is really the best way I can put it. I've never felt so crummy. I didn't feel crummy headed up to the rope walk or even down. But when we sat to ate lunch it hit me. and we still had a 3 hr bus ride back to accra. I didn't get a chance to stop at the bathroom before hand. otherwise we would have missed our bus. so i sat uncomfortably, VERY uncomfortably on the bus for 2 1/2 and then we were stuck in stop and go traffic right outside of Accra. After 3 hrs, Phebe said we could get off early, because I thought I was going to explode * note this is going to get graphic * so anyways we got off the bus and of course I had toilet paper with me, I had to take a crap in a feild of crap and trash near the road. There were other people using it too. Probably the most disgusting thing I've done in my entire life. but it was really the only choice I had, There were definatly no bathrooms around, I'm in Africa. most places charge you for the bathroom, and don't even have toilet paper. So thats my story of my first terrible run in with T.D. I feel much better today after loading myself with pills and drinking gallons of water.

thats it for today, I probably won't post too much more, I just had to get this down.

MISS YOU ALL! even crapping in a field, that was my only "bad" experience here. I'm not sure If I'll be ready to come home when its time. But I'm loving it here, I don't know when I'll post again. I'm trying to save money to buy drums and visit the Volta region on my last week, and have some money to come home with :-)



Advertisement



24th September 2006

Hi Sweetheart, I'm really enjoying reading your blog - it's so cool that you're getting to experience different cultures before you get caught up in every day life! I loved the chicken sandwich story - I had a similar "experience" on a bus from Cuidad Del Carmen to Merida many moons ago. For me it wasn't the food, but I forgot that they use the local water supply for making ice cubes. Anyway, there's nothing quite like getting Montezuma's Revenge on a long bus trip through the jungle!!! I hope that the rest of your trip goes well, and I can't wait to see more pictures. Love You - Dad.
6th October 2006

yep, still clear visions of that field....
Hey Laura! I felt so sorry for you when you were sprinting along that field of trash! I found it disgusting, and I only stood at the egde of it! Anyways, see you @ home ;) in Achimota!

Tot: 0.062s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 5; qc: 44; dbt: 0.0408s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb