2nd last day


Advertisement
Ghana's flag
Africa » Ghana » Greater Accra » Accra
September 13th 2006
Published: September 13th 2006
Edit Blog Post

What a week to finish on. As far as I can see, the NGO is crumbling beneath them. The project manager for Peace Cells is leaving (or being remvoed) so peace cell meetings for this week were just cancelled. The school term starts next week and according to the timeline, painting should have been completed (not yet started), doors and windows should have been put in, still nothing. For this, all classes next week are cancelled. So after teaching in the morning I am stuck for things to do, and the project manager kindly gave me a report to write that he sas, needs to exceed 20 pages. So my last few days will be spent at the guesthouse, typing away. It's ok though, it's been terrential downpours lately so no fun outside. Apparently there's a tropical storm off the coast of Liberia, heading in so that will make my flight on friday exciting I'm sure.
On a better note, we had a geat weekend in Kokrobite, we may have slightly overdone it on friday night but had a laugh anyway. As usual met some very interesting rasta men.
Tomorrow will be an interesting day. Before I leave, I am trying to do some interviews with people, so I can write articles for a portfolio I can use getting into Uni and for my CV. I have talked to a few people that are repatriating. They stand in a group with a pile of beach bags, washing machines, wheelbarrows etc, just waiting to get their stuff weighed and to be told when and how they will be taken to Liberia.
I have been trying to talk to the abruni doctor at the Buduburam hospital but without success, he has been really busy lately, but hopefully I can do that before I leave.
I think the most intersteing though, will be the meeting I have scheduled with a group of ex child soldires, tomorrow. It is at one of the peace cell zone leaders house, she helps a lot with them and seems to be their kind of 'mother figure', so it will be shocking I'm sure, but something I feel I need to hear to be able to pass any kind of opinion or judgement of the situation here- both sides of the story and that sort of thing.
This will probably be my last report from Ghana unless something exciting happens in the next day (which it probably will with PCO), if not, adios, i will be adding photos when Im back in New Zealand.

Advertisement



Tot: 0.087s; Tpl: 0.017s; cc: 6; qc: 44; dbt: 0.0394s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb