I'm here:) :)


Advertisement
Ghana's flag
Africa » Ghana » Greater Accra » Accra
June 13th 2006
Published: June 13th 2006
Edit Blog Post

Hi, friends! I have made it to Accra! I must write quickly as I am using someone's computer😊 Anyways, just want to let you know that all is well and thus far, I am thoroughly enjoying my time in Ghana! On the plane here, I met someone from Dubuque, Iowa...is it a small world or what?! I am busy trying to learn the money system, how to barter at the market, how to most effectively communicate with those who mainly speak Twi (most of the people here are bilingual, but usually they speak Twi to each other and sometimes they do not understand my english...which makes for some funny conversations😊 These past few days have been filled with amazing hospitality and many "Akwaaba, Oburuni"s (Welcome, white person!😊 Even though Accra has many white people, I am actually staying on the outskirts of the city...therefore, children do not know what to think of me--haha😊 One woman told me that many children think that we simply need to spend more time in the sun to become darker;-) Well, if the weather continues as it is (it is very very hot here), who knows..haha...just kidding😊 (anyways, i'm wearing my 45 sunscreen;-)
Today is my first day at the clinic----so far, it is a great place to be! The clinic is more in the city than where I'm living...I can't wait to explore! Apparently they have some folks from the U.S. here volunteering so I'm anxious to meet them! Well, I will most certainly be in touch once I find my way around to all the internet cafes;-)
I will send more details later...now I must go chill with this little girl at the clinic---she is sooo precious;-)
Love you all tons!! Peace, Katie😊
PS. Last night I watched Ghana play Italy in the World Cup...it was the first time Ghana has made the World Cup so many of the markets and restaurants closed for the occasion! They lost, but it was really neat seeing the Ghana pride and excitement😊 Apparently they play the U.S. soon....uh oh;-)


Advertisement



13th June 2006

Welcome to you new summer home!
Hey Katie, I'm glad to read that you arrived safely and are already having a wonderful experience! To relate some of my experiences in Mexico (with SLU in 2004) to what you are going through now, I had such a fun time with the kids there! They laughed at our intepreter and us when we were speaking English because they thought we sounded funny! :) Also, a comment that Linda made on the previous entry is one that I too wanted to comment on. She mentioned seeing such wonderful spirit in people that had so little material possessions. I too experienced this at a base Christian community meeting outside of Cuernevaca. It was AMAZING to hear about their spirit, the power and strength that these women had in each other, and the faith that they had despite being so impoverished. It was an honor when these women bought soda and made tamales, etc. to welcome us as their guests that night. I hope you have many experiences like this! Hopefully we will see each other sooner than later in this great journey we call life. Love, Gina
13th June 2006

Katie, What adventures you're having! When Bill and I visited China about 10 years ago, several people wanted their pictures taken with him, he's very fair, red hair. It was so much fun. Love, Rose
14th June 2006

You, you, you
Hi Kates! Sure happy that you made it there safe and sound. It was great talking to you yesterday, even if it was only for a moment. We are thinking about you and praying for you every day. We sure are proud of you! Love ya . . .Pops
15th June 2006

Such fun!
Isn't it funny how being blonde is totally unique in some places? Hope it makes you feel as special as you are. :) Rock on, dearie.
15th June 2006

Thank God!
Hey chica! I'm glad you made it safe and sound... Isn't it funny about little ones with their advice? Anyway, I'm sending ya lots of love! Let us know if you need anything! Yellie
15th June 2006

Yah! I hope you have tones of fun!
Hey! I am so glad that you made it in one piece! That must have been one long flight. It is so interesting to read your comments. I think it is so cute how the children think of our skin as much different. I am eager to read and learn more from what you see! best regards, Megan Macalady (fellow student),
15th June 2006

Mazungu
I can definitely relate to Oburuni - in Kenya it was Mazungu, Mazungu!

Tot: 0.133s; Tpl: 0.016s; cc: 9; qc: 55; dbt: 0.0723s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.2mb