7the- walking in the dark


Advertisement
Ghana's flag
Africa » Ghana » Greater Accra » Accra
March 7th 2006
Published: April 4th 2006
Edit Blog Post


Later the next day, much later, i had a better crack at it. The hotel was a
dump and I didn't want to eat there. After about two hours of walking I
finally found the restaurant I was looking for. People were very friendly as
I walked around confused, saying hello and waving, nice country I thought.
The waitress at the 'Orangery Restaurant' was friendly too, I don't think the
Ghanaians like to see people sitting on their own so we had a nice chat. A
group of 3, then 2, white girls came in to eat, the first whites I had seen
since I left the airport. I was slightly relieved it wasn't just me supporting
the tourist industry! I had 'Ghanaian' food, ie expensive tourist crap, but I
didn't know any better. It was getting quite late by now so I thought I'd
make an attempt to find the 'California Hotel' which got a better review in
my guide book. I was on the right road, the waitress told me where it was,
but I couldn't find the bloody place. I should have asked but I couldn't see
any building big enough to be a hotel, just a load of shacks and everywhere
was dark. people everywhere and no streetlights. (The taxi drivers pointed it
out the next day, demolished!). I had another beer and wandered home.


Advertisement



19th April 2006

The Orangery
Hello, happy travels. I was thinking that your write up on the Orangery REstaurant would be bigger and brighter. It is my favorate little secret place. Whenever I am in the area I go; even when I am alone. I always order the savory crepes (tuna and olives or the crab one). The dishes are always served so elegantly.

Tot: 0.117s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 5; qc: 44; dbt: 0.0625s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb