Ghana, an overview


Advertisement
Ghana's flag
Africa » Ghana » Greater Accra » Accra
February 4th 2006
Published: March 28th 2006
Edit Blog Post

Total Distance: 0 miles / 0 kmMouse: 0,0

Ghana to London


This is my TravelBlog, and my first blog has been long overdue, but finally here it is.



I had an amazing week in Ghana, and I'm sad to say that the precise details are becoming fleetingly fuzzy. I visited the cities of Accra, Kumasi, and Cape Coast, and they were all equally beautiful and unique. After careful song practice in New York, we visited two schools and played with the children. And the kids loved us. I learned the special Ghanaian handshake.

We also spent a night at the beautiful Coconut Grove beach resort; we played beach volleyball at night, and woke up early to watch the sunrise. We also spent a very scary night at Chances hotel, which could've been the set of a Ghanaian version of the Shining. I took a lot of pictures of advertisements because of my research project, and wish I had taken more pictures of people.

We also did some shopping, and purchased some Kenti cloth. We were also harassed by children and adults alike to either buy their goods or give them money. It was bascially a swarm of poverty stricken people around us ini any tourist site we went. On
Lunch at the Volta RiverLunch at the Volta RiverLunch at the Volta River

Christy, me, Nishi, Rachel, Amelia, and Alyssa
a more positive note, at one of the schools, the kids were so excited to play that they literally mobbed us when we got there.

The group had many a relaxing moment, from sitting on the bus and listening to Damba, or a nice lunchtime break at the river Volta. We also hiked to the Wli waterfalls, and had a pristine afternoon basking in the falls' mist. On a more somber tone, we also visited old castles and forts where slaves were kept.

The trip was just an amalgam of excitement, fun, learning, and humidity. I learned that because I was born on a Monday, my Akan name is Kwadjo. Looking back on it, it's a trip that I will always cherish, and the class all became closer because of it.


Additional photos below
Photos: 9, Displayed: 9


Advertisement

A cute kidA cute kid
A cute kid

His brother asked me to take his picture, and afterwards they tried to charge me for taking the picture, as well as sell me the red kenti the kid is wearing.
On the RiverOn the River
On the River

Rachel, Ian, Bea, and me
At Wli FallsAt Wli Falls
At Wli Falls

Ian, Nishi, me, and Rachel


9th February 2006

oo i like the pictures :) this kind of reminds me of el salvador in that third country kind of way

Tot: 0.08s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 6; qc: 47; dbt: 0.0456s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb