HAPPY BIRTHDAY TO ME


Advertisement
Ghana's flag
Africa » Ghana » Greater Accra » Accra
January 21st 2007
Published: January 21st 2007
Edit Blog Post

Today's my birthday! Yahoooooooooo! But it's about 12:03 am and I need to sleep soon, so I'll update you all on my birthday adventures in the next message. So the first week of work placements was alright. My first day at Theatre for a Change, I was a bit intimidated because I didn't really feel like I was qualified enough to be doing the job they gave me which is: Monitoring Officer in Somanya. I have to go to the town of Somanya, which is a bit over an hour away, and watch/participate in workshops that are put on in different schools by the facilitators who are teachers that are trained to put on these workshops. Then, I have to give them feedback and help them improve their work. I'm started to get the hang of it and I think I'm really going to enjoy my time here. I got to watch a performance today in Accra, and it was really interesting. The group went to an open space in the middle of the city and just started to warm up for their performance. They attracted a crowd and then started to perform. The play was about a girl with HIV/AIDS, I didn't understand it all because it was in Twi, but the first time they did it, it didn't have a happy ending. Then, they did it again and encouraged people to join in and try to change the situation so the characters' lives are improved. It was a really cool thing to watch and I'm really happy that I'm working with them. Tonight is the finale of Mentor II and I want Joe to win. But everyone wants Prince to win, but I don't think he's that great. Joe can not only sing, but he can dance (like Usher), play guitar, and sing in Zulu. Anyway, we stopped watching it because it started at 9 pm and it's going on until who knows when because the four remaining contestants have to sing FOUR songs each and there are other people performing between their acts. Augghhh it's going to go on forever. Anyway, if Joe doesn't win, I'm not going to let it get to me on my birthday!

Advertisement



23rd January 2007

Happy Birthday!
Dear Steph.......A very, very,happy birthday. We were thinking of you all day yesterday. We were in Florida, and flew home this morning (1-22) and now we got on the internet right away. We enjoy all your journal entries, and thanks for the letter. Did you get the box of candy from us yet? Did it come melted, or what? Love, G&G
23rd January 2007

Happy Birthday.
23rd January 2007

Hi there and Birthday Wishes from Canada!!! How much longer will u be staying in Ghana? Good thing u didnt go and watch the mentor finale live. We went for the first mentor and the whole thing took 5 (!!!) hours, that's without the waiting in "line" ouside the conference center. Hope u enjoying ur time over there :)
23rd January 2007

Steph is 19
Steph... I'm glad you're doing well and enjoyed your birthday. You're 5 years minus a day younger than me (I think that's right haha). And when I was thinking of you and how you were turning 19... i was caught off guard lol... that means I'm old. Even though you weren't here with us to celebrate your birthday... you were part of the celebration... as you can see from the love sent you way from the pictures! I miss you tremendously. Your placement sounds amazing... and I know you're there doing an amazing thing. You were a great person before you left for Ghana... and this experience will make you that much greater. Love you. Take care of yourself. Muah.
5th February 2007

Hello
Thanks for posting your travel blog. I am a Canadian - Ghanaian living and working in the States . Ihavent ben home for a long time buit I am planning a trip this year. Your blog is giving me some insight about what to expect. Thank you. Cudjoe. c_krown@hotmail.com

Tot: 0.164s; Tpl: 0.012s; cc: 10; qc: 48; dbt: 0.0911s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 2; ; mem: 1.1mb