Welcome to darkness


Advertisement
Ghana's flag
Africa » Ghana » Greater Accra » Accra
January 16th 2007
Published: January 20th 2007
Edit Blog Post

While on the plane to Accra, I kept saying to myself "You are going to Africa". I was a bit nervous about it but I had been looking forward to it for over 6 months so I didn't let the anxiety take over me. The plane landed at 9:00 pm and after I got out of the plane I could feel the intense heat of Ghana. It was 33C and all my clothes were inapropriate for the occasion. I went directly to customs and there must have been about 100 people waiting. There were a few Canucks but they were as interested in me as I was interested in them so we didn't talk to one another. I went to pick up my luggage and to exchanged a few dollars into cedis. It is hard to conceal the money: $100 US=45 bills of 20 000 cedis. I went down the ramp and I was hoping to see someone waiting for me at the bottom of it. There were a few people there with signs that read Johnson family or Abigail but none had my name on it. I won't lie I was afraid. A security guard approches me and asks if I want a cab I say no, then he asks if someone is picking me up and I tell him that some friends are coming so he tells me that I am not allowed to stay inside and that I should exit through the door on the right. It is 10:30 and it is pitch black and all I can see are hundreds of people outside the airport waiting. As soon as I got out the door I see a guy with a sign reading "Ulise Huerga Munoz". I know that is me and I feel relieved. They come to help me with my bags and I introduced myself. They were Martin, Seth, Richardson and Ben. They had chartered a taxi and we start driving towards God knows where. I reach for my seat belt but I can't find it so I hold on to the door as tight as I can. The city is pitch black. Lights are out. I am not able to see a thing. They say that it has been so dry that the water level in the Volta dam is so low that there is not sufficient electricity generated to light up the city. They tell me the place where we are heading is called Ashaley Botchway and it is 25 minutes away. At 11:00 pm we arrived to a lodge and Martin tells me this is where I will be spending my first 3 days. I get out of the car and pick up my bag but Martin won't let me. He wants to carry it for me. I tell him I can do it but he insists and I don't argue. I don't want to be rude. "You are my guest" he says as we walk into the lodge. There is no light in Ashaley Botchway either so we go in and the guys at the reception shine a light on my face. I get my key and Martin takes me to my room. He takes my bags in and asks if I am hungry. I tell him I am thirsty and he goes and buys me a bottle of water. He says good bye. I go to bed but I can't sleep. All I can think of now is Africa and what lies ahead for me.

Advertisement



21st January 2007

Hola
Que bueno que llegaste bien. Cuitate mucho!!! Te quiero mucho. PS: Cuentanos mas cosas y con mas detalle!! Escribes muy poco. TQM Idi.
21st January 2007

Hola
When are you posting some pictures? I want to see what it is like? Write soon. I check your blog every day. Take care!! We miss you TQM :)

Tot: 0.06s; Tpl: 0.012s; cc: 6; qc: 44; dbt: 0.038s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 2; ; mem: 1.1mb