Biscuit Coat


Advertisement
Ghana's flag
Africa » Ghana » Eastern » Old Tafo
June 21st 2011
Published: July 1st 2011
Edit Blog Post

KanuKanuKanu

Captain of the Under 14's
The spiders may have a more elaborate plan lined up. I got back in today and there was hundreds of small dead ants in a web near my bed. Looks like they are feasting, and could be ready to attack. I left bug spray near the web to scare them.

School has been OK lately, but a little boring. I was teaching science the other day and we were talking about the difference between mammals, reptiles etc. I asked them to come to the board and each write down an animal that lives in the village. The answers were COCK, COCK, GOAT, COCK. I told them to call it chicken instead. We went on a field trip to find some animals, as it got them out the class and kept them interested for more than 5 minutes. Again the word cock was shouted out too many times for my liking. I've been trying to teach them odd English words and phrases as we walk around, stuff like 'alright mate' , 'flip flops' and 'zebra crossing' (they have no zebra crossings). Today I taught them 'biscuit wrapper'. One kid called it a biscuit coat. I think I will try and get
ElvisElvisElvis

And they mock ME!?
him demoted to class 2.

A lot of the kids in the village have a very limited grasp of English and I have around 10 conversations a day that are just

"Obruni, how are you? What is your name"?
And I always respond with "Fine, how are you? My name is Ian".

But they have never heard the name Ian before and just laugh when I tell them. Then they shout "EEEEEN, EEEEEEEEEEN" and laugh some more. Considering there's a kid in my class called Bismark, one in the class below called Mbo Pee and one called Elvis, I don't know why they pick on me 😞 At least START with Elvis.

I'm really old to them too. Most people seem to have kids when they are 19/20, and are married by then too, so whenever I tell someone how old I am, and that i don't have kids/wife, they just look at me like :S So I have started knocking a few years off my age to make me look less weird. The way things are going I will be telling people I'm 13 by the time I leave. I think they all lie about
ClassClassClass

Theres 4 kids I teach now, but 1 has only been in once in 3 weeks!
their ages anyway. There's a lad in the under 14's team who looks at least mid 20's. The next Kanu.



Additional photos below
Photos: 10, Displayed: 10


Advertisement

SmallSmall
Small

Classroom is tiny
MeMe
Me

Richmond drew a picture of me. It was rubbish.
Field TripField Trip
Field Trip

Took them to the river to see some fish. There were no fish.
RaziakRaziak
Raziak

And they make fun of MY name?!
KidsKids
Kids

Kids at school
VolleyballVolleyball
Volleyball

I brought them over a volleyball for the girls to play with as the lads all played footy and the girls dont play any sport. The lads just took the volleyball and now play both. The girls still have no sport.
SpiderSpider
Spider

Another warning to the spiders.


Tot: 0.061s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 8; qc: 51; dbt: 0.0337s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb