Creativity and flexibility


Advertisement
Ghana's flag
Africa » Ghana » Ashanti
January 18th 2011
Published: January 18th 2011
Edit Blog Post

Wow, thank you for your comments and messages to the last postings. They are so important to us. Reading them takes our hearts "back home". "Home" is always a nice place to be. Thank you (smile)

*****************

Creativity and Flexibility are key to surviving life in another culture. I’m not always so good at it but this time I think I’ve got a good idea. I need your help to pull it off.

As we mentioned, last semester Praise was enrolled at a school in the town of Dunkwa. Sparing you all the grueling details, I'll simply say, "that didn’t work out". He is happy to be home schooling again and I'm happy to have him back. As I return to the classroom in the village of Apebouso Praise will accompany me. We have purchased all of his needed 2nd grade home school materials. They are waiting to be sent to us. Praise THRIVES in the Apebouso classroom environment. His classmate (and best friend) Godlove is an amazingly cleaver boy and a tremendous encouragement to Praise.

There are only 4 students in Praises class in Apebouso. What I would LOVE to do is use his home school curriculum and materials with ALL of them. I believe this will be a tremendous educational boost for all four. Considering the cost involved in ordering and shipping these materials from the US, I wouldn’t attempt this for just any of the students. I believe with these particular students it is a worthwhile investment. We have already paid the bulk of the cost by ording supplies for Praise. For his classmates we simply need to "add" a few additional copies of these items.

Cost Breakdown:
Godlove $175.00
Helena $175.00
Abigail $175.00
1 Additional Reading Text Book $55.00 (2 students can share one copy. Praise already has one.)
Shipping to Ghana $150.00

This cost will cover ALL books and extra materials needed for an entire school year. I will stay with the basic subjects of Math, English (grammar), Reading and Spelling. The home school curriculum is more complete and systematic then I could ever be.

With your help these individual students have a chance to gain a firm foundation. A foundation their peers cannot gain. I now ask you to consider sponsoring a child or contributing in part by covering the cost of shipping or additional text books.

If you would like to be a part of this project scroll to the bottom of this screen and click on “Message”. Let me know that you are interested and I or Kirk will contact you with the needed information. Items must be ordered by January 30th. By clicking "Message" your message will be automatically forwarded to our email inbox which is more easily accessable to us.

Thank you, in advance, for your help. I am excited to see the difference this system will make in their educational level.

Sincerely
Christine & Co.




Advertisement



Tot: 0.075s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 8; qc: 29; dbt: 0.0469s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb