Woo Hoo!


Advertisement
Ghana's flag
Africa » Ghana » Ashanti
June 12th 2009
Published: June 13th 2009
Edit Blog Post

Woo Hoo!
It has been a several months since my last posting. The main reason being, I had no news, nothing to say. As I mentioned before, I’m not teaching this term due to our US trip. Time has basically been spent doing what we could and “waiting”. Everyday ended with the thought, “maybe tomorrow” the exception being Fridays. We have been waiting for Kwabena’s visa situation to sort itself out. Today was the end of the “sorting”. Against all odds Kwabena was granted a visa to travel with us to the US.

It has been a very long and grueling process. Finally we are at the end and there are so many wonderful, meaningful tidbits. There are special events and timing’s that just add “greatness” to the visa being granted at all and the trip we have ahead of us.

It is hard to put into words and to explain the full impact and change this trip will bring to Kwabena’s life. Today, his future has changed. This 17yr old boy has been granted enormous opportunity. His primary education will be more complete as he has postponed high school for one year. During that year I will home school him and hopefully “fill in the enormous gaps” that public schools in rural Africa have left.

For the past few weeks, I have been telling Kwabena, “If they don't grant the visa, I will cry tears of sorrow. If they do grant the visa I will cry tears of joy. So just know that, I’m going to cry.” Because the process has been so slow and incredibly frustrating I think the reality that “it’s over” hasn’t hit me, or Kwabena, yet. Surprisingly, it has been an anti-climatic feeling. While Kirk and Praise were shouting, dancing and celebrating I was so tired, the only thing I could think about was getting back home so I could sleep. It was only 11am! Kwabena became shy and quiet. I have no doubt once we are back in the village and packing our bags the tears of joy will flow and I’ll be jumping around with all “the boys”!

Oh what a changed life he has!
What fun we will all have over the next six months … yes! …
I think of the sights, smells and tastes he will experience … hmm …
I can’t wait to introduce you to another one of our children and to bring you a bit farther into our life in Africa.

We plan to fly out of Ghana the evening of June 29th. We arrive in North Dakota the afternoon of June 30. We have a loosely scheduled itinerary at this point. We hope to be in North Dakota for July and August. Then spend September and October in Michigan. Off to Florida for the month of November and back to North Dakota sometime early December. If you are some where between these destinations please contact us. We hope to catch you as we pass by your area.

Neil Diamond plays on in my head … “We’re going to America. We’re going to America. We’re going to America. HURRAY!

See you soon
Christine & Co


Advertisement



13th June 2009

YAY!
Hey Wiltse Family! That is so exciting!! so good to hear from you too...Kwabwena must be in total shock! awesome opportunity! You survived Ghana/USA immigration! wow :) missing you guys heaps...think of you lots...been crazy busy lately but will be in touch again when your IN AMERICA! :) So jealous of Alesha right now! Aroha nui Akos xxx
13th June 2009

Tears of joy
I am sharing in the crying as I read this. I can't wait for you all to be here! I can't wait to be a part of some of the new discoverys Kwabs will be having. I CAN'T WAIT!!!
14th June 2009

Praise God!
Oh, what a tremendous answer to prayer! I'm excited for you and pray that God will guard his heart and spirit as he experiences such new things. You are amazing and I rejoice with y'all! Let me know if you are scheduled to be in the Dallas area at any time. Otherwise, let me know if you can take any extra things back with you (I can only imagine you will have so much to take back!). Love, Nancy

Tot: 0.196s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 9; qc: 49; dbt: 0.0715s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb