Wireless Internet!


Advertisement
Ghana's flag
Africa » Ghana » Ashanti
April 1st 2009
Published: April 1st 2009
Edit Blog Post

Kitchen and DinningroomKitchen and DinningroomKitchen and Dinningroom

Our village kitchen made of mud, sticks and thatch (leaves) with an attached "dinning room". Every meal is like a picnic in the park!
This week Kirk and I are in the capitol city of Accra. We received a phone call last week from the US Embassy asking us to come ASAP. Several weeks ago we applied for a visa for Praise to accompany us to the US this summer. At that time he was temporarily denied. For fear of “child trafficking” they wanted to do an investigation on Kirk and I as well as verify the authenticity of the paper work we submitted. Tuesday of this week, Praise was granted his visa!

We have been struggling for months to process travel papers for Kwabena (our 17yr old boy). We were told by the embassy, “there is only a slight chance Kwabena will be granted a visa.” Hey “slight” works for me. It says “continue to hope” and that is what I will do until all avenues have been exhausted. At this point he will basically need three miracles to happen in the next two weeks.

#1 His passport to be released - was due 3wks ago and we can’t move forward without it.
#2 An interview date within the next week - they are booked up for the next two months
#3
 Guest House Guest House Guest House

Should you come for a visit, this lovely little "cabin" is all for you!
To be granted a visa - 17yrs-33yrs old are considered “High Risk” visa applicants.

While we have access to wireless internet I decided to post some pictures of “Life in Ghana”.









Additional photos below
Photos: 13, Displayed: 13


Advertisement

Store House & GarageStore House & Garage
Store House & Garage

What was once our guest house has now become the storehouse for outdoor equipment, bikes etc.
My Commute to WorkMy Commute to Work
My Commute to Work

Bush road all the way. The seven mile drive to the village of Apebouso takes 30 minutes.
CoconutsCoconuts
Coconuts

The local water fountain! Fresh coconuts are sold for pennies on the roadside. Cut open with a few quick swipes of a very sharp machette.
TrafficTraffic
Traffic

Traffic in town can be oh so slow!
Christmas Tree Bulbs!Christmas Tree Bulbs!
Christmas Tree Bulbs!

Calabash - hard shelled gourds. They are cut open, seeds scooped out and shell left to dry. Locally used to carry drinking water to the farm, bowls and sometimes spoons depending on the shape. They always make me think of Christmas Tree Bulbs.
Finger Sized BananasFinger Sized Bananas
Finger Sized Bananas

The best banana you'll ever have! Yep, that's as big as they get. Photo by Sister Akos
Giant Forest SnailGiant Forest Snail
Giant Forest Snail

Two types/colors "White" which can live a life of leasure and are left to itself by the locals. The "Black" on the other hand is a different story. The locals claim "they're good for the body" and never let one get away.
Birthday Bouquet From GodBirthday Bouquet From God
Birthday Bouquet From God

They grow in my yard but I have no idea what they are - aside from lovely. As their bloom is rare, last year I considered this one My Birthday Bouquet from God.
Such and ArtistSuch and Artist
Such and Artist

Such an artist is our Creator!
Suit of ArmorSuit of Armor
Suit of Armor

Check out that design
Apebouso StudentsApebouso Students
Apebouso Students

Cool shot by Alesha


2nd April 2009

what a place!
I Would like to know where this village/town Apebouso takes that you work in is. It seems like it could be an interesting place to visit? on a day trip. Is it in the Kumasi area? I will be visiting Ghana in a few months time, and I am looking for some out of the way places to introduce to my kids (I originally come from Ghana) and I am looking for some rural 'spots'. Would you suggest it? I would appreciate any feed back. Thank you Cally
7th April 2009

http://www.clpostingguide.info
I recently came across your blog and have been reading along. I thought I would leave my first comment. I don't know what to say except that I have enjoyed reading. Nice blog. I will keep visiting this blog very often. Sarah http://www.clpostingguide.info
9th April 2009

Welcome
Hi Sarah and welcome to this blog site. I don't feel that I'm the best "blogger" so if you have any questions (or further comments) please feel free to ask/post them.

Tot: 0.065s; Tpl: 0.012s; cc: 7; qc: 23; dbt: 0.0427s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb