Stranded ... Never


Advertisement
Ghana's flag
Africa » Ghana » Ashanti
September 27th 2008
Published: September 27th 2008
Edit Blog Post



In all my many, miles of travel in Africa/Ghana, I have never been stranded. The Lord has faithfully taken care of me. Now Kirk on the other hand has had enough experience that he’s able to change just about any kind of tire in any kind of situation! He’s a man, in a man’s society.

“But as for me, I trust in You, O Lord; I say, ‘You are my God.’ My times are in Your hand; …” Psalms 31:14. Once again the Lord has protected and provided for me. During the months of August and September I put a lot miles on my car. It had some quirky things happening to it at that time. The first time the engine cut off while I was in the middle of a left turn. No problem there, the engine restarted without hesitation. On the next two occasions I had momentarily turned the engine off. Then when I tried to restart it (several times), “no go”.

The first time it refused to start, I and my passengers simply prayed “reminding God” that I’m 200 miles from Kirk, home, my mechanic and my source of money. We also threw in the fact that it’s night time in this city. I retried the engine and “Vroom!” we were off. “He shall call upon Me, and I will answer him; I will be with him (or her) in trouble;” Psalm 91:15

A week later while on my way back to our village of Fenaso I and my (lady) passengers met a police check point. We had approximately 100 miles left of our trip. As I drove around the road barrier my engine cut off with a terrible screeching sound! I coasted to the road side. Claudia, my German friend, noticed we were directly in front of a mechanic shop. Sure enough, I looked over and there were “three, money hungry, mechanics” eagerly watching us the- seemingly stranded - white ladies. I gave them a big, gentle smile and a wave. They greeted us in the same manner. I tried the engine a few times, and “no go”. Now the men were sitting on the edge of their seat and smiling. The ladies and I prayed …and once again … “Vroom”. I looked over to our eager mechanic friends. I gave them another big, gentle smile, and a wave. They greeted us once again in the same manner, though now relaxing in their seat.

We made it home safely later that day. Within the next week I had several trips to town and around. During those trips, had I had a car fault, it would have caused a very BIG problem. Once life calmed for a few hours, I decided I would run to town and check email. I would be back in the village that evening to receive the next visitors due to arrive that evening.

The Lord is so good to me! In town our “drive way” begins at the top of a very big hill and takes a sharp left at the bottom. The car had just gone over the top of the hill and was fully in “down hill” mode when the engine cut off with a terrible screeching. There was no starting it this time … Now that I think about it, I don’t remember praying! Hmm???? My first thoughts at that moment were, “Oh man! Not good!” My car is far too heavy to push back “up” the hill. What if I go to the bottom of the hill and I can’t get it started!? In order to protect it from thieves that roam at night, I will have to sleep in it! How many days will it be until it’s fixed? This doesn’t sound like fun at all.

At this point my only option was to coast to the bottom. Mind you it’s a VERY steep hill and a VERY rough road. With the engine off I have no power steering and no power breaks. We’re talking “real man” power! At the bottom of the hill there is a very large church with a very large parking lot just to the right. As I was nearing it I had to consider that as an option. Do I park here or keep going and try to make it to my regular daytime parking spot? If I can’t make it, I’d hate for this beast of a vehicle to be stuck in the middle of this road! My decision, “If I do have to sleep in this thing, I’d like it to be as close to the house as I can get it.” As I continue I’m now groaning to control the steering and speed, I coasted on and around the left turn - try to imagine the long, orange, brick wall that would stop me if I couldn’t muscle the turn. It was only this day that I noticed the slightest decline in our road. It gave me just enough added momentum to make it … to my regular parking place. Ahh, Thank You Lord!

Using my cell phone, I gave our mechanic a call and he was there in 10 minutes. He was able to “rig” the engine to get it started and moved to our security lot. There it sat for four days while our mechanic made the 140 mile round trip - two times - to get the needed parts. I was not in the village with the rest of the family, but I was in my own house (we have a small house in town) sleeping in my own bed and using my own facilities. The Lord is so faithful! I have to chuckle as I remember those three, very eager, roadside mechanics. What if I had been stranded there for three or four days? No hotel, no restaurants, no “facilities”. He ALWAYS watches over and takes care of me.

In addition, it just so happened, that our visitors were delayed a few days … He (God) doesn’t miss one beat or detail…EVER!

“Any my soul shall be joyful in the Lord; it shall rejoice in Him. All my bones shall say, ‘Lord who is like You?’” Psalms 35:9, 10a

Wishing you a Blessed Week
Christine & Co





Advertisement



Tot: 0.181s; Tpl: 0.021s; cc: 8; qc: 49; dbt: 0.0627s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb