Cape Coast


Advertisement
Ghana's flag
Africa » Ghana » Ashanti » Kumasi
May 29th 2006
Published: May 29th 2006
Edit Blog Post

I went to Cape coast this weekend and I would show you pictures but my batteries are dead.... it has possibly the most beautiful beaches I have ever seen anywhere, the sad part of course being that many of them are filled with waste and you'll even see pigs rummaging among them. I also saw a goat pregnant with triplets... it's cross section could be compared to a 3 foot long football!

And the mosquitoes here... see first I thought it was great that they didn't buzz and all, but now I realize that I think I'm allergic to them and each bite swells up to be about 8cm long and 5cm high... ridiculous! I may live on reactine after all just to get rid of the swelling!

Was cape coast was incredible and humbling... I saw the cape coast and elmina castles, both of which were used by the british and dutch respectively for the slave trade and I stood in the rooms where the slaves were kept and walked through the door of no return (now symbolically the door of return since two descendants of slaves were allowed to reenter in 1995... ). I also walked up to fort william which happens to be a home and where a boy named benjamin lead me up to the top of the tower to get a view of the city... interresting to think that for me this icredible piece of history is for him home... to prove it there was even laundry hanging from the cannons.

Two of the people that I started my placement with in Accra are apparently in the hospital at the moment... not sure what's up but apparently it's not malaria so here's to hoping.

I really cannot express how cool ghana is... the people here are so helpful and caring... the only problem is that no matter what, they will always tell you what you want to hear... the problem is that it's only the truth half of the time. On friday we wanted to leave early so the kingdom coach guy told us to show up at 11 and we'd leave then... well we got there and the bus didnt leave until 1:30 (which was apparently when it was supposed to leave anyway) but he'd told us to show up earlier since we wanted to go early...

Anyways, next sunday is the addae festival where all of the local chiefs come into kumasi to honour the kumasi chief (on a side note, I met a chief in cape coast and he wants me to go visit his village), so we're bringing bea in for the day since she's never been to it.

Anyways, time to sign off again as I never have enough time... have to get back to offinso and the family

Lindsey

Advertisement



29th May 2006

Amazing
Linz, I finally had time to read your posts. Between Algonquin and NY I finally have time. All I can say is WOW. You never stop amazing me. The pictures are great. As a visual peson they really help me understanbd what it isd like there. I'll look forward to reading and seeing your next post. All the best Steve

Tot: 0.097s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 5; qc: 44; dbt: 0.0583s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb