Lets learn to read


Advertisement
Ghana's flag
Africa » Ghana » Ashanti » Kumasi
May 20th 2006
Published: May 20th 2006
Edit Blog Post

To sum up Ghana, I will quote from a bumper sticker:

"On judgement day you'll wish you had Jesus stickers on your car"

Four days later I can cooly admit that my post about my first day at school was the nicest I could have made it... in reality my first day was hell and I cried when I got home...

but since then, the school is awesome... I'm tag-team teaching the oldest kids (a much smaller class of only 22 students and located on an outside wall so it is much less noisy... my first class was directly in the middle).

My goal for the class is to get them all reading by the time I go... they are so eager and I am reading them a chapter of the Boxcar Children Book each day and they're so excited to someday be able to read it on their own. Special thanks to Kyra and Rowntree... I've used tons of the ideas you gave me already such as the jolly phonics, spelling flash card things, rainbow spelling, etc. Definitely would not know what to do if I hadn't spent those two days at school so thanks again.

I'm going to keep this brief because I'm attempting to post some pictures... and keep using my gmail address or replying on the site if you want to talk to me.. I've discovered Kumasi's fastest internet spot so it's all good now.


Additional photos below
Photos: 6, Displayed: 6


Advertisement



20th May 2006

Oh, Lindsey *BIG HUG*. I was thinking only you could have taken aday like that and made it into something so positive. That's so much like you. I know you're doing a beautiful job of everything out there, and that all of your efforts will pay off. Lots of love.
21st May 2006

just saw the pictures
Hang in there- the pictures - are wonderful. I can hardly wait to see you.
23rd May 2006

I will read your journal later (I printed it out) but wanted to let you konw that one of the girls I eat with made us a Ghanaian dinner tonight (she is Ghanaian) - I only hope you are eating as well as we ate tonight! Keep at it, love you baby. Emily
23rd May 2006

GOOD JOB
Hi pal, Good job , keep it up . I hope most people who read your journal will follow your steps.
30th May 2006

Lindsey one of the best creations of the weathier nations in the past 50 years is organizations like the Peace Corps which seems similar to what you are doing. However, we are indeed blessed that people of your calibre would volunteer for such a personal challenge. I salute you with respect. Hi Anchal....

Tot: 0.087s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 7; qc: 52; dbt: 0.0426s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb