Home with the Ashanti


Advertisement
Ghana's flag
Africa » Ghana » Ashanti » Kumasi
February 25th 2009
Published: February 25th 2009
Edit Blog Post

Well, today means my trip is halfway over.
My cell phone is dead, so everyone will have to contact me on this website.
I am now in Kumasi, home of the Ashanti.
Today, I visited the market, the cultural museum and the sword in the ground.
There is a sword, stuck in the ground from the 16th century. It came from heaven from the Ashanti God. No one can pull it out. It's stuck. Legend has it that if anyone succeeds, that the Ashanti chief and people will lose their power and their kingdom.
Marida, I thought I saw Byron for the third time. He was in Accra, then Cape Coast and now Kumasi. Are you sure he is in the US?
On the bus to Kumasi, I sat behind a bus driver who has that same kackle laugh that CD use to have. He also had that snickering sucking of his teeth when he got mad, just like CD. Later in the day, I heard others with that same laugh and sucking teeth sound. So, this came from Ghana.
I have not seen a white person since Monday morning.
Many women here have tribal scars on their face - unlike the people on the coast. Also, many more muslims here - and all are still friendly.
Have to still sit on my left hand and remember to only eat with my right hand.
After lunch, I met a couple from Chicago who own a store here. They sat me down and fed me lunch again. You must eat the food when offered.
Tomorrow I will be going to the bush to see other Ashanti villages and buy some kente cloth. The big main chief was not available to give me a naming ceremony. I gave it a shot. That's like going to new york state and demanding to see the governor.
Their are 8 lesser chiefs responsible for other regions and report to the main chief. I will try to find one of them for my naming ceremony.
Well, gotta go.
I've taken over 500 pictures and when I come home I am sure you all will happily look at everyone of them.
Kofi

Advertisement



Tot: 0.057s; Tpl: 0.008s; cc: 9; qc: 53; dbt: 0.032s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb