travel news!


Advertisement
Ghana's flag
Africa » Ghana » Ashanti » Kumasi
November 19th 2008
Published: November 19th 2008
Edit Blog Post

hey all!

I went travelling all last week to visit the north of Ghana, which was far hotter than where I am now! I visited Mole National Park where we went on safari and we were lucky enough to see three elephants along with some wart hogs, antelopes, monkeys and baboons so that was quite exciting! Also the scenery was spectacular! I didn't like the journey though, it was in a very old bus along a very dirty and bumby road! A clapped out death trap we called it! unfortunately i chose to wear a white t-shirt that day, it was brown by the time i came off the bus and i don't think it will ever be white again!

After mole we went up to Bolatanga which was a very nice city. We stayed in a beautiful questhouse which cost us two pounds per person a night..BARGAIN! Then we went for a day trip up to Paga, which is where they live in harmony with the crocodiles as they believe that they are their ancestors. So we visited the chief crocodile pond, where a crazy man said some words and a big crocodile came out the water! The next thing i know he is screaming at me to sit on it, so natually i did! Then he was like pick up the tail, pick up the tail! i wasn't having any of that though and took my chance to run away before any more came out of the water behind me!

We also visited a slave camp whilst in Paga which was very interesting but horrible when they were telling you all the stories about what happened where you were standing!

ON the way back down to Kumasi, we stopped off at Kintampo which is a very small town but has some very beautiful waterfalls. They were 25m high and so preety, you could go under them and swim which i sort of did but the rocks were very slippy and i kept falling over so i soon gave up before i got hurt!

Unfortunately on Sunday i wasn't very well and i went to the pharmacy and he thought i had malaria so he gave me all the pills to get rid of it. This meant i couldn't go and see the kids on monday and Tuesday, as i had to stay at home in bed and rest whilst my lovely host family looked after me!

Luckily i feel loads better today so i was able to go and give all the children lots of hugs and kisses to make up for me not being there! i think they were glad to see me as they all came running to give me a hug! So nobody worry - im fine now!

I can't belive in a months time i will be home! its gone sooo fast!

Missing you all x

Advertisement



23rd November 2008

Having a look
Hi Sarah. I will just mention that I have red your blog about your life in Ghana. I'm going as an volounteer to Kumasi from february to may so it is very interesting for me to read your stories! Hope you will add more before going back to GB! Yours sincerily, Julie, Denmark

Tot: 0.057s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 9; qc: 50; dbt: 0.0271s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb