news!


Advertisement
Ghana's flag
Africa » Ghana » Ashanti » Kumasi
November 5th 2008
Published: November 5th 2008
Edit Blog Post

Hey all!

Sorry ive not uploaded anything in ages, everytime I've been to the internet cafe its either not been working or after 15 mins its broken again! Hope everything is good back in England, it was so weird to hear that you had snow when it's so hot here!!

At the weekend I went to Lake Bosomtwi which was lovely, so beautiful and peaceful! It's in a valley so surrounded by lots of green forest so it was luxury relaxing by there. I didn't dare swim in the lake, just in case I caught anything!

Ive been moving all around the orphanage this week, which has been really nice as I keep meeting new kids, who are all so great!

On monday i was at the nursery and one of the boys, francis, was wearing shorts which were too big for him so kept falling down which meant he tripped over! So naturally i kept pulling them up for him! After this happened a few times he realised that when his shorts fell down it meant he got attention so he would come to me then walk away and take his shorts off and then come back to me to help him put them back on! After the second time I told him 'no' as he took them off. But already the other Francis had cottoned on that when your shorts come down you get attention, so he too took his shorts off. Soon the trend caught on and Nasay and Emanuel joined in, so I had four half naked two year olds all at my feet holding up their shorts! I burst out laughing at their logic and innocence and they all looked at me so confused! Bless!

Then in the afternoon I took them out to the playground and took them down the slide, which they loved! I wasn't such a fan as it's a very hard, wooden slide and theres a very big hard stone which stops you at the end, I had a lovely bruise after 10 times going down! Kerika and I brought in some paints so they did some hand painting which again they loved as they liked the feeling of the paint on their hands and afterwards they were so proud of thier paintings and we put them up over their beds!!

Today i worked in the home unit, where there are a lot of disabled children so I did some colouring in with them! They got so excited all the different colours, so that was really nice!

On saturday I'm going up to the North to go to Mole National Park to see the elephants and other wildlife which should be great, then also going to visit some waterfalls which are meant to be very beautiful! Although I'm excited, I'm quite sad that I won't see the kids for a whole week!

Advertisement



8th November 2008

Elephants
Bring me one home PLEASE :) Glad to hear its all good miss A :)

Tot: 0.069s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 8; qc: 51; dbt: 0.0393s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb