Bonus Blog for a Friday: Just like in the US, only with a different soundtrack


Advertisement
Ghana's flag
Africa » Ghana » Ashanti » Kumasi
June 13th 2008
Published: June 13th 2008
Edit Blog Post

One of my favorite commercials in the US is from a few Super Bowls ago, by UPS. It has three guys in shirt and tie in a closed office dancing to "Push It" by Salt 'n Pepa. The boss bursts in, the music stops, and he asks a series of "where is the shipment", "who's handling what," "how much money do we have" type questions. One of the workers checks the UPS tracking system, answers the three questions rapid-fire, and turns the music back on, and dancing resumes as the confused boss leaves the room in a fluster.

Fast-forward to last night, and on local TV the same scene occurs, except it's African beats and Ghanaian office workers, but the boss is still just as angry when he burst in, yelling that a shipment arrives the next day and they don't know when a loan to buy the goods will be approved. Instead of a tracking device like in the UPS commercial, the guys dial an automated banking number, which replies "Your loan will be ready at ten am, tomorrow." Boss is satisfied, dancing resumes, and the bank's logo flashes across the screen.

This got me thinking: I might want to apply for an advertising position in Ghana, since I could probably string together a series of hits by bringing back some other classic American commercials. We shall see.

Oh yeah, my ego cries a little each time I find my entries without a single comment, is anyone reading this or should I stop?

Advertisement



14th June 2008

curious
i am curious about africa. i really want to go and i plan to visit soon, but i have many questions....how are the people.....the culture.......the food....the laws.....everything! give me as much informationas u can!
15th June 2008

Re: curious
Thanks for reading. I can't really comment on "Africa" as a whole, since it's 50-plus countries and I've only been in Ghana so far, but as far as this country, the quality of people here is incredible. Everyone is always willing to help yuo and interested in talking to you, yet without the problem of them trying to run a scam or trick you. That being said, I wouldn't come here for a vacation over other places in Africa like Malawi and Mozambique or Kenya, since there isn't that much to see/do, but if you are more interested in volunteering or something like that, this is a great country to spend a chunk of time in one spot, getting to know people and the culture. Hope that helps.
15th June 2008

A reader
You bet I am reading!! Thank you for writing! I love this blog!
20th June 2008

I'm with ya
Rafer, Please keep running strong. It's interesting, I find your question to be one of the greatest mysteries in life which can often be answered by looking inside of yourself, or as Micheal Jackson put it, "...at the man in the mirror". When I played puck, I often found myself asking your same question. Is anyone listening? Or, is anyone out there? Or, does anyone care? But what is so intriguing to me, is that often times most of your friends and family are walking, or skating, the same path and you don't even know it. So the answer to your question is, "yes, we're here and listening." I'm here with you buddy, I wear the jeans on casual Fridays and live in the Ghanian culture through your witty and entertaining blog. I Love it! You never stop amazing me, and to think I used to be your teammate on the WT Town Hall B-ball courts. You're an inspiration. But, don't let this make your New Era 59fifty cap size enlarge from a 8 3/4" to a 9" (probably still too small, man you have a melon!) as I know it will not, I just wanted to let you know we are all watching you and the masterpiece of your life. -W

Tot: 0.134s; Tpl: 0.012s; cc: 5; qc: 43; dbt: 0.1099s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb