Ethiopian Christmas


Advertisement
Ethiopia's flag
Africa » Ethiopia » Oromia Region » Robe
January 7th 2007
Published: January 7th 2007
Edit Blog Post

Ethiopian ChristmasEthiopian ChristmasEthiopian Christmas

The tree at Tenaye's house
It is ironic that, as someone who “doesn’t do Christmas” I have had two Christmases! The first in Addis with VSO friends and the second in Robe. Tenaye, who is the wife of Tamrat who I worked with when I first got to Robe, invited me to Christmas lunch at her house, which was very kind of her. She is also a fantastic cook and has invited me to eat with them several times before. She knows that I am vegetarian, so there were no worries on that score.

When she came by the other day to invite me, Tenaye presented me with a length of material and told me to get it made up into a kind of kaftan. I was concerned about whether she meant the dress for me, but had to assume that it was a Christmas present, or “Happy Birthday present” as she called it. I had it made up yesterday, but then was worried about whether or not I was expected to wear it to lunch. In the end, I wore clothes that I could put it over (actually, it would probably fit over all my clothes!) and took it in my bag. I decided that if Tenaye was wearing similar, or if she mentioned it, I would produce it and say that I didn’t want to get it dusty on the walk there - which is true!!

The food, as expected, was wonderful - injera with vegetarian dishes. I did have an uncomfortable half hour or so of being lectured by another guest (someone who I know from the College) about Christianity and quizzed about why I don’t believe in God and Jesus. Hmm! Christmas Day in a very religious country is probably not the best time to admit to a lack of belief - but I refuse to lie! Although he said that I have a right to my views, he then made it clear that my views were wrong. I have the unfortunate honour of being the first person he has ever met who has no belief!

Tenaye and her son (who has started corresponding with Josh) walked back to the College with me - we had hoped to visit the exhibition, which we had been told was still on, but it was closed.




Additional photos below
Photos: 3, Displayed: 3


Advertisement



Tot: 0.12s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 11; qc: 77; dbt: 0.074s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.2mb