Paging Jared Brown: I am totally blessing the rains down in Africa


Advertisement
Ethiopia's flag
Africa » Ethiopia » Oromia Region » Jimma
January 26th 2010
Published: January 26th 2010
Edit Blog Post

One day it rained a little, no big deal. The next day it was a bit overcast, nothing too foreboding, then BAM! The loudest thunder I had ever heard. A second later, there was a torrential downpour. The hotel has a section of ceiling that is corrugated metal and the hallway leading up to that section was deafening due to all the rain hitting the metal. Roads and pathways are pretty muddy. I was told Jimma University had to close for the day. Evidently it’s not even close to the rainy season. As one of the city folk said “the weather is fucked you know? I think it is all the America, Europe, an’ China,” to which I interpreted, “rain is highly unusual for this time of year. I believe that the weather patterns we are currently seeing are due from pollution and evidence of Global Warming.” Well there are only two things to do: bless the rains, and take some time to do things you never haaaa-aaaave. Lyrics that Jared texted me before I left and a song I cannot get out of my head. Thanks.

Advertisement



27th January 2010

Is it the xylophone?
I think it is the xylophone that makes it stick in your head like peanut butter in shag carpet.
28th January 2010

Yay Dave!!
Ha ha ha! HIIII! OK, you must hate me once again. But, let's just get over that real quick because you are in Africa!!! OMG! I'm loving reading your posts. I just got your email and have only read a couple, and can't read any more tonight. I am actually supposed to be trying to get to bed early these days because.... 1) I have been getting up for a hospital internship way earlier than my body likes 2) I have my graduate school comprehensive examination next Friday that I have been studying non-stop for for a couple months and 3) I like to sleep, but, I really wanted to write and say hi and tell you I'm sorry I'm such a flaky friend and congratulate you on your exciting journey. It sounds like what you are doing is amazing... it is totally interesting to me right now since I just started interning with in-patients at California Pacific Medical Center in SF. I'm learning so much medical stuff I've never learned before and am absolutely LOVING it! I think I've finally found my calling - good thing I didn't settle for making cheese. Anyway, can't wait to read more and I'm so happy it sounds like you are having such a great time. Ciao for now... Kira :)

Tot: 0.074s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 8; qc: 49; dbt: 0.0462s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 2; ; mem: 1.1mb