Addis again


Advertisement
Ethiopia's flag
Africa » Ethiopia » Addis Ababa Region
October 15th 2011
Published: October 30th 2011
Edit Blog Post

Total Distance: 0 miles / 0 kmMouse: 0,0


Long flight to Addis Ababa but all goes to plan. The expected thumped landing delivers the familiar airport before me. Short queues for visa (they failed to give me the multi-entry visa I requested last time around), then through short but slow queue for immigration and out onto the buggy, dusty tarmac of Addis. The sun is shining warmly and the permanent pollution haze hangs heavy over the city as I wait for my lift to arrive.

My very welcome lift arrives, along with my two mountain companions - RL & JW. JW I am meeting for the first time but it is truly wonderful to see RL again – she’s the reason I’m here, the reason I’m heading for the Simien. So, via the gamble of an Addis cashpoint visit and a visit to the Hilton to organise some ticketing and payment for various flights, we arrive at the welcome sight & feel of RL’s Addis house which now feels like a second home (home being a place in one’s mind, not a building sitting on a piece of dusty earth).

Relaxing afternoon & evening involving unpacking and re-packing for the mountain trek and some sleeping while RL & JW go out for last minute supplies (the trip is catered for but trail snacks are always welcome for keeping the spirits up on long days).


Advertisement



Tot: 0.363s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 7; qc: 54; dbt: 0.0669s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 8; ; mem: 1.1mb