Running on Churchill Ave & 'Street Gym'


Advertisement
Ethiopia's flag
Africa » Ethiopia » Addis Ababa Region » Addis Ababa
January 21st 2010
Published: June 16th 2017
Edit Blog Post

Geo: 9.02274, 38.7468

Last night when eating dinner, a mid 20's Ethiopian couple, Youhanis and Solome, started a conversation with me. I commented to them they both looked very fit and strong. They inform me they enjoy running and going to the gym, and invite me to join them the next morning. At first I'm a little hesitant, the meet time is to be 5:15 AM, but I think, what the heckl.

At the appointed time, they meet me outside the guest house where I am staying. A single bar up the street is still going strong, or at least the music is. We do a .5 KM jog over to Chuchill Ave. where our running will begin. Churchill Ave. is better described a a true boulevard. It is a steady incline from the city center to the Piazza area which has been my base camp. There are 15 or 20 other people doing the loop- 200 meters up hill, 200 meters down hill. We do about 10 loops, the uphill portion we give it our best. Youhanis leaves me in the dust, but Solome stays with me, I think she is watching over me. The other runners are surprised to see a farangi here, but it's all good.

Then we go to the 'Gym', just a short distance away, located next to DeGaulle Square. The gym is a pie shaped area of concrete with enough room for 10 or 15 people. We do push ups, dips, strethcing, jumping jacks, sit ups and body weight squats, whatever can be done without the aid of any equipment. I'm having a good time. They assure me I'm probably the first farangi to have ever participated. It was LOTS of fun.

Today is a down day, waiting to leave for Harar tomorrow morning. I've opted for the comforts of the tourist bus, the 'Sky Bus' for this travel leg. It will be far more comfortable and it has a toilet on board. The 550 KM will take about 9 hours rather then the 13 hours required via the regular bus. I have a reserved seat, front row. The scenery will be good. Leaving a 6 AM.

Had my last breakfast at my regular place this morning. The wait staff thinks of me as a regular, I am greeted with smiles. I think they like how I tip. The background music here is always from the western world....Kenny Rogers, Aba, Frank Sinatra, Johnny Mathis....I've heard some songs I've not heard for years. Maybe they bought these CD's from www.oldcd.com ??

My next update will be from Harar.



Advertisement



Tot: 0.105s; Tpl: 0.019s; cc: 9; qc: 48; dbt: 0.0432s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb