Timkat-Day 2


Advertisement
Ethiopia's flag
Africa » Ethiopia » Addis Ababa Region » Addis Ababa
January 19th 2010
Published: June 16th 2017
Edit Blog Post

Geo: 9.02274, 38.7468

The second day of Timkat (Jan 19) is more subdued, but only a little. My new friend Kidst calls me and asks if I want to meet her for the second day. Sure, why would I pass on having a free local guide.
I meet her and family again. Her English is excellent. We talk about lots of stuff, and she continues to quiz me and tell me about her guy, Michael.

The second day the tabots return to their 'home' church. We walk towards Jan-Meda, but our progress comes to a complete halt short of our destination. There are just so, so many participants. We wait and then join the the procession back to St. George church.

It's a happy day here. Everyone is smiling. Lots of children want to shake my hand...and no one asks me for money. After returning to the church, the atmosphere is relaxed and festive. Food and non-alcholic drinks are available. I'm probably a little de-hydrated, but I've intentionaly not drank too much of anything, there are no public restrooms to be had. Port-O-Lets have not yet arrived in Ethiopia. Besides, who would foot the bill?

I watch the festivities for an hour or so. For the first time on this trip someone WANTS me to take their picture for free. Three girls, about age 11 or 12, ask me to take a photo, they only ask to see the saved photo. They are quite happy, start to giggle, and thank me.

Soon it will be time to leave Addis for my next destination. I've decided on Harar, located in the Eastern part of Ethiopia.



Additional photos below
Photos: 8, Displayed: 8


Advertisement



Tot: 0.053s; Tpl: 0.019s; cc: 6; qc: 27; dbt: 0.0266s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1mb