Happy Eid!


Advertisement
Egypt's flag
Africa » Egypt
January 10th 2006
Published: January 11th 2006
Edit Blog Post

Agh, I hate computers. I just typed a really funny (obviously) and insanely long blog and it deleted it all. So, here's the abbrev. version because I don't feel like writing it all over and the creative juices are in need of some serious recharging.

I am now writing from Alexandria where we're been for the past few days. We are staying with Danice's aunt's friend who is among the elite in Egypt and whose house is like a 5 star hotel compared to the hostel in Cairo. Alexandria is a port city, right on the Mediterranean, and Sohair's apartment on the 8th floor has a fabulous view of the whole sea. Sohair left us in the care of her nephew and a girl she works with so they've been our makeshift tour guides since we arrived. And life here is such a jarring shift from Cairo. These people are definitely among the top 1% of the population--we spent yesterday going from coffee shop to coffee shop and hanging out at the country club (yes, I said COUNTRY CLUB...I don't even go to these in the states!). Apparently that is how they spend their days. It was fun, although I kind of prefer the winding alleys of Islamic Cairo and buying falafel sandwiches off the street. The pollution of Cairo wasn't that great but the atmosphere was fabulous. Although, I must admit that having the sea so close is AMAZING. We went to a fish restaurant on our first night here (where you get to pick out your fish before you eat it!) and, being the seafood lover that I am, I decided right then and there that living on the sea is pretty much the best life ever. I don't know if I can go back to being inland... 😊

Today was the feast of Eid which is a Muslim holiday celebrating the sacrifice of Abraham in agreeing to kill his own son (which he ended up not doing obviously, but the whole idea behind it...not advocating the whole homicide thing you know); accordingly, Muslims in Egypt sacrifice whatever animal they can afford--cow, sheep, goat, etc.--right in the middle of the street! We wanted to catch some of the action so we woke up early but apparently not early enough (the killing starts at 7am!). We did see some pools of blood on the street, lots of animal skins, and a man skinning a goat in the parking garage of this building...not your everyday sight. Muslims give 1/3 of the meat to the poor, 1/3 to neighbors, and keep 1/3 for themselves and their families. I considered dressing in rags to see if I could hit up some free meat but the whole raw and unskinned thing was a bit of a deterrant... 😊

Instead, to celebrate, we had dinner tonight with Marwan (Sohair's nephew) at a fancy restaurant where we had a ridiculous amount of beef and lamb. I am completely stuffed with meat and I'm loving it. I really think the Catholics need to consider the value of this holiday...

Ok, got to run. I've already exceeded my share of time on the lap top (damn computers) and I have lots to do since tomorrow is our last day in Alex. Hope all is well and I will write again when I get a chance!

Yours in Amr Diab,

Laura 😊

(Amr Diab is one of the most famous Egyptian singers who has some pretty fabulous songs. I bought his cd and I can guarentee that you will find me rocking out to it within the next few months)

Advertisement



Tot: 0.096s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 7; qc: 44; dbt: 0.0739s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb