Pharaoh's Revenge


Advertisement
Egypt's flag
Africa » Egypt » Upper Egypt » Luxor
July 20th 2010
Published: July 20th 2010
Edit Blog Post

Hello All!

Andrea and I are now in Luxor relaxing a bit. We ate some bad fod and have been a bit sick over the last couple days, but I think that we are on the road to recovery now. I also have an allergy to something in the air here it seems so I am a bit stuffed up, but not too bad....After all, Andrea is a pharmacist 😊

Over the last couple of days, Andrea and I have taken the sleeper train from Cairo to Aswan (which is about 13hrs) and it was not to bad at all. The fod on the train was a bit different, but not too bad. We also managed to catch some god ZZZZzzs. The first day in Aswan we got to attempt repairs on our broken toilet in the hotel that was leaking water all over the bathroom (the little floaty thing was broken). After that we toured the Nubian museum in town and then ate some more....Felafel! This felafel was a bit sketchy! Our stomachs managed to handle it though. It was stinking fricking humid and ht on this particular day. I have never felt anything like it. So, after the felafel, Andrea and I boked it back to the hotel for a few hours of AC.

After our AC, we took a boat ride with a 57 year old Nubian man (who looks like 75) and he gave us a talk on the hisory of the area. The visit with the Nubian man was a highlight of the day I think.

Next we stopped at a tiny beach along the Nile. Andrea and I hiked up a big sand dune to get a view of the Sahara Desert and t feel what real desert heat is all about. After that we jumped into the Nile for a bit of swimming for a break from the heat. We enjoyed this a lot! I wish I had my fishing rod though...tonnes of fish. We did not see any really big ones, but I know that they are there 😊

To cap off the evening we had dinner with a Nubian family. We got the stink eye from the cutest little boy and also ate some decent food. I give the food 8/10. There was a dance for the kids and the girls that followed and Andrea busted a move like only Andrea can. 😊

The following day we checked out the Philae Temple, had a milkshake at the local MacDonald's (Yep!) and then chillaxed in the pool at a local hotel. By this point I think that Andrea and I are starting to get a bit "Templed Out." We ate more skethy felafel today and also went to a "nice" restaraunt with the guie for our trip. This is where we believe we got the "Pharaoh's revenge" and we have not felt good since. We are just starting to recover... Right after the Pharaoh attacked our "digestive temples" we hopped on an all day boat (felucca) ride down the Nile... During the ride Andrea and I felt pretty terrible. After many trips to the "bush" Andrea and I are closer than ever.... I will not add any details here!

Today we got off of the felucca and drove first to the Edfu temple and then to the hotel in Luxor. I am sure that the temple was great and all, but what really made me happy abut the temple was that it had a bathroom!!!! We each paid 1 Egyptian Pound to use the facilities AND we needed to provide our own TP. Andrea took the photos of the temple...At this point I was hurtin pretty bad.

We are now at the hotel, have eaten some ritz cheese crackers that we got at the Americanized Food Shop and are feeling much better. We are going for crackers at the moment to calm our "temples." Tomorrow is the Valley of the Kings and then the sleeper train back to Cairo!

Cheers and more to come!


Corey and Andrea!



Advertisement



22nd July 2010

Careful of your peentu
Don't pee in the nile!

Tot: 0.125s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 12; qc: 49; dbt: 0.0498s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb