Well, La-Tee-Da


Advertisement
Egypt's flag
Africa » Egypt » Upper Egypt » Luxor
June 6th 2007
Published: August 8th 2007
Edit Blog Post

Awaking to the sound of a good pounding on our door at 5:00 a.m. was not exactly my cup of tea. We had just enough time to throw on clothes and gobble down our pound cake and croissant breakfasts before arriving at the Luxor train station. The last thing we were in the mood for was another haggle fest at such an early hour.

Gene, knowing his feisty wife all too well, warned me before we even stepped foot out the door that he was in no mood to fight over a few bucks and wanted more than anything just to get to our hotel. Nonetheless, I still managed to Jew down the taxi driver another 5 Egyptian pounds, saving us a whole $0.50 just out of principle.

We were certain we got swindled once again until we arrived at the Sheraton, followed shortly thereafter by another couple we remembered from the train station. Curious as to what they were charged for the brief ride, I politely inquired.

“40 Egyptian pounds,” answered the young man. “Why? How much did you pay?”

Regretting that I even asked, I responded honestly, “25 pounds.” Needless to say, they were not happy.

We were disappointed, but not surprised, when the receptionist informed us that our room was not yet ready and that we would have to wait in the lobby until the room was tidied. The other couple approached the reception desk as we took our seats. A short while later, we watched as they were provided a key and directed up to their room. Gene and I, sitting dazed and confused, asked how they managed to get a room before we did.

Seemingly satisfied that they had one-upped us, the girl responded, “I have status.” Well, la-tee-da. Too tired to get myself worked up, I slumped over and slipped into unconsciousness.

Startled awake by the sound of broken English, I opened my eyes to discover an Egyptian gentlemen introducing himself to Gene as Abdul, the owner of the tour and transport company employed by the hotel. Abdul detailed the various tours offered by his company, ranging in both price and duration. Determining that the best way to explore Luxor was through the eyes of a trained guide, Gene and I inquired regarding the cost of two full-day tours. After quoting what I felt was an inflated price, I again took on the task of bargaining and negotiated free transportation to the Sound and Light Show at Amun Karnak Temple on our first night in Luxor.

Happy to take in the major sites in Luxor over a two-day marathon, we decided to take it easy our first day and hang out at the pool. Baking under the Egyptian rays in my bikini, I could not fathom wearing the full-length black burqa warn by the Muslim woman walking with her child near the pool. It made me sweat just to think about it.

After having enough of the 100+ degree weather, Gene and I headed back to our room for an afternoon siesta. Not quite in the mood for the Sound and Light Show, we woke up to the sound of the alarm and readied ourselves for our evening affair. As I exited the elevator on the ground floor wearing board shorts and a tank top, I may as well have been walking around topless in a thong bikini based on the looks I received from the locals. The male hotel employees childishly snickered as I ambled through the door past them. The looks I received from the Muslim women were daunting. Thankfully, Abdul was right on time.

When we arrived at the temple, Abdul was stopped by a guard and engaged in a conversation in Arabic. Gene and I, assuming it was just another security ploy, sat quietly in the backseat waiting to be waved through. Just when we thought we were free birds, Abdul turned to us and informed us that the Sound and Light Show was reserved for a corporate event and that we would not be allowed entry. As we sighed in sync thanks to our waste of an entire day, I noticed the double-decker buses lining the parking lot, displaying Proctor & Gamble signs. Nothing in life is for free. So much for my bargaining skills.




Additional photos below
Photos: 5, Displayed: 5


Advertisement

In Case You Forgot the Way to MeccaIn Case You Forgot the Way to Mecca
In Case You Forgot the Way to Mecca

This sticker was found underneath the glass of our hotel desk.


Tot: 0.504s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 22; qc: 92; dbt: 0.3161s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.3mb