Aswan


Advertisement
Egypt's flag
Africa » Egypt » Upper Egypt » Aswan
March 12th 2009
Published: March 12th 2009
Edit Blog Post

Hey kiddos!

I am in southern Egypt in a place called Aswan. Aswan is a much calmer place than Cairo was. It is very beautiful and is located along the Nile River. To go from Cairo to Aswan, my friend and I took a train overnight for 14 hours. We slept on the train! It was really fun, but not very comfortable.

When we arrived in Aswan, we went to a beautiful garden on a little island called Kitchener's Island. There were trees there from all over the world as well as exotic flowers. There were little kids from Aswan visiting the island and many of them said "Hello" to us and asked us where we are from.

Today we went to an amazing place called Abu Simbel. Abu Simbel is a temple built by the ancient Egyptian pharoah Ramses II. He lived to be over 90 years old (which was VERY old back when he was alive over 3000 years ago) and he built more temples than any other Egyptian pharoah. When you walk into the temple there are 4 huge Ramses sitting down to each side of the entrance. These were cut out of te rock. In side, pictures of battles Ramses II won are carved all over the wall. It is really spectacular to see him shooting arrows while riding in a chariot.

Tomorrow my friend and I are going to take a felucca, which is an ancient kind of boat, down the Nile for one day. A felucca has no engine or motor and uses its massive sails and the wind to float slowing and peacefully through the water.

I am sorry I have put up no pictures for you. I may not be able to before, but I will show you when we get back to school. I also bought a special treat for each of you today. 😊

If you can, go to Google with a parent or other adult and look up: ASWAN, ABU SIMBEL, and FELUCCA so that you can see what I am talking about.

I hope you are having a wonderful break!

Ms.C. 😊

Advertisement



Tot: 0.062s; Tpl: 0.012s; cc: 6; qc: 44; dbt: 0.0404s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb