Egypt At Last!!


Advertisement
Egypt's flag
Africa » Egypt » Sinai » Dahab
July 25th 2008
Published: July 25th 2008
Edit Blog Post

Phaistos DiskPhaistos DiskPhaistos Disk

This is a famous artifact found in Crete whose symbols have not been deciphered. I think it's a children's game where you roll some dice with the symbols and move your piece to the next one that comes up ;-)
Hola amigos, I know it's been a while since I rapped at ya... (probably only Matthew gets that joke)

Seriously though, I know I haven't updated in a while, but we've been pretty busy sightseeing in Egypt and fast internet connections are not exactly easy to find around here. The one I'm currently on isn't terribly fast, so we'll see how many pictures I get uploaded.

Ok, well I just uploaded a few photos and it took forever so now I'm tired of being at the computer. I'll give a quick rundown of our travels now and then flesh things out later.

Last of Greece

We spent one more week in Greece, on the island of Crete. We checked out some museums and ancient sites, went to a water park (which was awesome fun!) and spent a few days at a beach. Crete was nice, but we didn't enjoy it as much as Corfu or even Santorini.

Egypt

We flew from Crete to Cairo, spent a week there visiting the museum and the pyramids. Then we went down to Aswan to see Abu Simbel. After that we spent a few wonderful days in a Sheraton in Luxor while we visited Luxor and Karnak temples, the Valley of the Kings and Abydos temple. Last night we flew from Luxor to Sharm el Sheik and then drove to Dahab. Egypt has been fun, hot, amazing, and trying at times. I will fill you in on the details at a later date.

Oh yeah, I finally got a haircut. Check out the before and after pictures below.


Additional photos below
Photos: 5, Displayed: 5


Advertisement

Mar GirgisMar Girgis
Mar Girgis

Doesn't this kinda look like my name? It's actually Egyptian for Saint George. This is also the last photo of me with longish hair.
Me at the Bent PyramidMe at the Bent Pyramid
Me at the Bent Pyramid

Check out the short hair! I haven't had my hair this short since high school...


25th July 2008

New Wave Mark
That haircut takes ten years off you Mark! But for some reason it makes you look like you need a Members Only jacket and a Pat Benetar cassette tape. So what are the people like in Egypt? You're in the muslim world now; are things very different?
5th August 2008

Where are you?
Did the Pharoah's ghost get you? Barbary pirates? Libyan arms smugglers?

Tot: 0.103s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 10; qc: 49; dbt: 0.0672s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb