Dahab - A little R&R


Advertisement
Egypt's flag
Africa » Egypt » Sinai » Dahab
July 30th 2007
Published: August 5th 2007
Edit Blog Post

Checking out the PhotosChecking out the PhotosChecking out the Photos

Photos from places they have never been.
I have spent the last 3 days in Dahab, Egypt. Nice relaxing town on the Red Sea. I been doing nothing but relaxing , catching some rays, eating some amazing meals ( the Res Snapper is great). Also doing some diving. I put in 4 dives in the last 3 days. the high-lite there was seeing a octopus and having a bunch of barracudas circling us.
Very Laid back town, board walk lined with cheap resorts, restaurants and shops. Cats everywhere, Egypt is over run by cats. You sit down at a outside restaurant if there wasn't a cat all ready a cat siting on the cushion next to you, with in a Minut there will be 1,2 or 5.Just sitting there Wait watching you eat.
Just so you don't think every day of my travel is a Rosy one. the trip here from Petra. Was the Biggest Cluster F#*%. A trip that should take 4 to 5 hours ends up taking 16 hours. From Petra take a taxi to the Red Sea, take a ferry across to Egypt, and a taxi to Dahab, with a little extra time for immigration and purchasing my Visa. Sounded easy. lol. The 1 hour fast ferry was not running the day I was travelling So I have to take the slow ferry (3 hours). When they say slow ferry they didn't only mean the time it takes to cross the Red Sea they meant every thing about it. 3 hours to get on the boat, 2 hours waiting in the harbour 3hours crossing the sea, 2 hours waiting in the harbour to get off the boat. Then getting off hundreds of people trying to help you with your luggage. 50 taxi drivers fighting over who gets to drive you to Dahab. When I say fighting I mean FIGHTING! I saw 3 fist fights break out between taxi drivers while I was waiting. Don't even get me going on the Immigration and Visa fiasco.
After that day of hell I need a couple relaxing days.
I have also decided, I do not have enough time to see all I want to in Egypt if I do it on my own. So I have asked the hotel that i am staying at to arrange my next 6 days. So I can see as much as I can. I think this will be a adventure all on its own. Sounds like they are sending me everywhere as a VIP.

You only live life once, make the best of it!

Cheers

Tim


Additional photos below
Photos: 13, Displayed: 13


Advertisement



Tot: 0.061s; Tpl: 0.015s; cc: 13; qc: 29; dbt: 0.0276s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb