2-4 May


Advertisement
Egypt's flag
Africa » Egypt » Lower Egypt » Giza
May 4th 2010
Published: May 4th 2010
Edit Blog Post

15 May Bridge15 May Bridge15 May Bridge

On the Zamalek side of the river, with Giza on the other side. the 15 May bridge is one of a number of bridges that connect the two.
1658 (GMT +2)
Giza, Egypt

My apologies to all for being out of contact for so long, but it's been a busy couple of days.

On Sunday morning (2 May), I woke up mostly refreshed. After a long and sleepless Friday night, and a full day of walking on Saturday, I crashed very early, and slept nearly eleven hours. That was a much needed rest. Registration and placement testing at my school was scheduled for 0930 on Sunday, so I had breakfast, then hit the streets and made my way to the school.

I decided to try walking, instead of taking a cab, for two reasons. First, I wanted to get a handle on finding my way around the streets. Second, I was still recovering from my drive from the airport. Based on my walking on Saturday, I was certain that it wouldn't take me more than a half hour to walk to school. I would have been right, had I not turned the wrong way on one street. Even so, I quickly corrected my error and made it in about forty minutes. Testing only took an hour or so. It was pretty quick, as I don't have
Mosque on the NileMosque on the NileMosque on the Nile

A mosque on the Giza side of the Nile
much of a background in Arabic, other than the little bit I'd taught myself.

So, having most of the day left, and being mostly recharged, I decided to venture off further. I still hadn't heard word about my bag, and I was down to my last shirt. In my readings on Egypt, I had come across a company called Mobaco Cotton, which has several branches, one of which located on Zamalek. Thinking I'd give it a try, I mustered up enough courage to brave a cab ride, and managed to make it there ok. I picked up two shirts, had lunch at a Hardees (I know, I came all the way to Cairo to have American fast food. In my defense, though, there is not a Hardees where I live.) and decided to try walking back to the hotel. This involved crossing the 15 May bridge over the Nile.

It's interesting to note how a river that has been so important - indeed essential - to the formation of civiliazation, it so terribly dirty. Aside from the water being dirty, people walk by and throw their trash in it. Of course, they pretty much just throw their trash
Papa John'sPapa John'sPapa John's

Mmmmmmm......
anywhere here.

On the way back to the hotel, I stopped by an outdoor restaurant on Gamat El Dewal El Arabiya. It was nice to sit outside in the late afternoon, as the air started to cool. I ordered a mixed grill, which came with naan, tahini, a chopped salad, lamb grilled in herbs...and French Fries. I couldn't tell if the fries were actually supposed to come with the dish, or if the idea of an American eating a meal without fries was considered uncivilized, if not un-Constitutional. In any event, the meal was good.

Monday began the first day of actual classes: Egyptian Colloquial Arabic in the morning, and Modern Standard Arabic in the afternoon. Six hours of class was long, but a good start. After class I was taken to look at an apartment nearby, a three bedroom flat that is shared by two students, one from Germany and one from Sweden. It was very close to the school - about ten to fifteen minutes by foot - and looked fairly good, so I'll move in tomorrow.

Classes today went equally as well. There are students here from all over the world: Germany, Hollan, Sweden,
Cairo TrafficCairo TrafficCairo Traffic

This is actually a fairly light day.
Switzerland, New Zealand, Austria, England, the Netherlands, Italy. Thus far I'm the only American in my particular classes, but everyone speaks English and seems very friendly.

More later.

-MG

Advertisement



Tot: 0.042s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 6; qc: 24; dbt: 0.0239s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1mb