Final Farewells


Advertisement
Egypt's flag
Africa » Egypt » Lower Egypt » Cairo
December 23rd 2008
Published: December 24th 2008
Edit Blog Post

Well everybody, this is probably the last time I will post in this blog, unless I do something once I get home. I can't believe its time to leave already! Not going to lie, there were times when it felt like it would never come, but now that its here, its come waaaaaay too fast! I'm super excited to go home and see my family, friends, horse (lets be honest, he should be listed first 😉) but its so hard to say goodbye to all of the wonderful friends I've made out here. I've literally seen Holly and Vicki almost everyday for the last four months...its going to be so weird not seeing them all the time!!!
So much has happened just in this last week (its funny how that works...it seems to be a bad habit of mine, doing a ton and meeting even more people right before I leave somewhere!) I don't even know where to begin. Well, most importantly classes ended, we all survived finals (thankfully!) and we had a few days to explore Cairo and visit our local haunts one last time. We went to Al-Azhar park (amazingly beautiful! if you ever go to Cairo, you have to go!), did last minute shopping at Khan, wandered around, ate cheap falafel and got fresh juice. Holly and I continued our habit we picked up in Turkey of playing backgammon (I'm going to have to practice more to beat her!) and the last few days have been filled with goodbyes.
I'm not really sure what to say about this whole experience...in some ways I've changed a lot, and in some ways I've come in a full circle. Its funny because I was just reading my journal that I've kept this trip (I've been just as bad about keeping it as I have this!) and right after I got to Cairo and had finished my 2 weeks in Europe I wrote something about how I now know that I really can handle doing huge things, like traveling, on my own, and that while it is amazing to have people around its also okay to go at it alone. After my interesting time trying to check in at Cairo Airport this morning (lets just say it was a good thing I ended up at the airport super early!) I thought the exact same thing...see what I mean about circles??
This whole experience has been incredible, and never in a million years would I have thought that I would get to see as much of the world as I've been able to, or to meet as many cool people as I have. I am a firm believer that everything works out in the end, and that the friends I've made on this adventure will last my whole life. After all, we did struggle with and become attached to the same place! Thinking about the months ahead (OMG I graduate in May!!!) I can't believe how far I've come. And even though I have no clue where I'll be this time next year (actually, considering its a couple of days before Christmas, hopefully this time next year I'll be making my way home from wherever I am!) I know that life has a way of working itself out.
Thank you to everyone who helped me with this adventure, to all of my friends and family for their support and love (I know I got a bit overly-emo at times!) and I hope that you have enjoyed the pictures and random stories that I've shared. If you ever have any questions about my trip, traveling in general or just want to talk, I am always around, and don't hesitate at all to call, e-mail, facebook, Skype, whatever you're preffered method of contact is 😊. To all my friends from AUC, we will keep in touch (Holly, I'll be out in Minnesota for that 5 course meal soon!) and to everyone back home I will see you all hopefully within the next few weeks, before I head off to GW for my last semester.
Thank you all again, and much love, one last time from Cairo!


Additional photos below
Photos: 26, Displayed: 24


Advertisement



Tot: 0.051s; Tpl: 0.013s; cc: 7; qc: 24; dbt: 0.0272s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb