Channeling My Inner Mummy


Advertisement
Egypt's flag
Africa » Egypt » Lower Egypt » Cairo
September 23rd 2008
Published: September 23rd 2008
Edit Blog Post

SO.

I've had an interesting past 36 hours.

First, scalding hot coffee spilled all over my legs right at the beginning of my evening class. No one in the first 5 minutes seemed to understand the urgency of the situation, so I was left to wander around, the pain finally hitting, until my champion hero rescuer friend Ramadan found me.

The next hour was spent in the washroom stall, with one of those little spray hoses. Thank god some Egyptians don't use tp.

In any case, Ramadan would occasionally knock on the door to see how I was doing. on one such occasion, probably about 20 minutes after the Incident, I stopped spraying to see if I was functional enough to move somewhere, preferably back home.

After 10 seconds the pain was so intense I nearly threw up. (and anyone who has partied with me knows it takes a lot to make my stomach that upset)

Well, in any case, the pharmacist told me I should see a hospital doctor. The AUC clinic guys recommended me to a surgeon at the hospital (and the nurse kept making the most hilarious face every time she saw the burns.. and that strange hissing noise people make when they see something that looks painful).

So yesterday I finally went to the hospital, dreading it and expecting a Canadian-sized 6 hour wait.

10 minutes later, I meet by British-accented doctor, the sweetest, most cheery guy ever. It had to be that way; I hate doctors, and if it were any other person....

Anyway, I have severe 2nd degree burns all over my right upper front thigh and my left inner thigh. Apparently I will most likely need surgery for the left one.

As a funny freaking sidenote, I also have mild bronchitis.

AND after heading back to my place, feeling worse and worse, I got up a couple hours later only to realize that I have a raging fever. and chills.

This could be a fever from infection; that was the biggest concern with the burns.

Back to the doctor's. 39.7 degrees. he asked me why my eyes were puffy. needless to say, there were tears in them!

thankfully, the fever wasn't related to the burns.

I say that I'm channeling my inner mummy, as my thighs are completely and tightly wound with gauze, and I'm under strict orders not to change them, take them off, get the wet, yadda yadda. Now I really have to see the mummies at the museum- I anticipate a strange affinity with them.

I think my body was channeling a big f--- you, after I was wandering around campus all day with my burns. It wanted bedrest- it forced me into it.

SO. I have 2nd degree burns, probable imminent surgery, bronchitis, a really bad cold, a stomach bug, 4 different types of hardcore meds I'm popping every 8 hours, a slew of foods I can't eat, AND yesterday I lost my camera.


On the bright side, I got out of my really really boring evening lecture!

Stacey

(Today, actually, camera was found, fever seems to be gone... and I might not have to do this presentation tomorrow)

Advertisement



28th September 2008

Egh
Let us know how the surgery goes - coffee is a finicky mistress: so crucial for daily functioning yet so unexpectedly dangerous

Tot: 0.114s; Tpl: 0.02s; cc: 5; qc: 45; dbt: 0.0513s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb