Party For Two


Advertisement
Egypt's flag
Africa » Egypt » Lower Egypt » Cairo
July 10th 2008
Published: July 10th 2008
Edit Blog Post

So. I'm rested, I'm cool, I'm eating a hamburger and I'm listening to "Party for Two" by Shania Twain.

However, not just your regular Wednesday afternoon: I'm in freaking Cairo, Egypt.


Yesterday I arrived, delirious but awake. I've arrived to a couple conclusions so far:

Egyptian toothpaste is freaky.

Papa John's pizza tastes about the same (so this is what they eat in Egypt, Alex).

and stories about wandering in the desert, meeting dinosaur-wives, and having small white australian cow children are by far the most amusing.

I seem to have picked up the most entertaining Arabic teacher (the teller of aforementioned romantic story) who, among other things, has taught me useful phrases like "I am from Shubra (an area around Cairo)" and "I don't drink tea, I drink soda I am" (a little ditty from these parts).

I look outside, and it's 40 degrees and, well-- desert-y. People don't know how to drive, everyone leers at the Western chick, and I can't understand a single word out of anyone's mouth other than the occasional "Hello, girl, and thank you".

It. is. amazing.

Stacey


Advertisement



Tot: 0.088s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 6; qc: 45; dbt: 0.0463s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb