Travel Plans


Advertisement
Egypt's flag
Africa » Egypt » Lower Egypt » Cairo
July 8th 2008
Published: July 8th 2008
Edit Blog Post

The summer English course at St. Leo's is winding down. Tomorrow is the final day of classes. We'll have a party tomorrow evening and on Thursday we'll go to the Red Sea (Ain Sukna) for a day at the beach. On Friday morning we'll catch a 7 am train to go to Assyut in Upper Egypt. We'll be traveling with our friend Kadry, who is one of the students in the summer program. We will be visiting his village (I'm not exactly sure how far it is from Assyut) from Friday to Thursday. Our internet connection may be spotty there so you may not hear from us often but I'll be piling up blogs while I'm there to share with you when I can post.

This is the part of this year's trip that I have been most looking forward to, experiencing "real" life in rural Egypt -- the way most Egyptians live. Kadry has told us that his mother has asked what she should make and he's advised her to make anything she wants, but he's told be sure to have mangos and figs -- both of my favorites and both of which are just coming into season in Egypt. (I've also discovered an Egyptian delicacy called "kunaffa" that I must learn how to make -- think crispy and honey!)

If all goes well we will be visiting one of the monasteries in the area. I think the one he mentioned was Deir Al-Muharraq. This is one of the sights on the "Jesus slept here tour." If I've got the right place, the guidebook tells me that Coptic tradition claims that the Church of al-Azraq that is located here is the world's oldest Christian church, consecrated around 60 AD.

Also, Kadry tells us that his sister's baby is to be baptized while we are there. This will all be an incredible experience. Know that we'll be soaking it all in and sharing it with you in every way possible by blog, by picture and certainly when we return home.

Hans spent Monday in Islamic Cairo with the other teachers and took lots of pictures so maybe he'll share a little bit about that when he gets a chance. Unfortunately, Hans woke up on Tuesday feeling sick -- it's about the same time I got sick when I first arrived as well. So he is taking it easy this morning and resting. Hopefully the magic drug Antinol will kick in and he'll be up and around this afternoon. (Truly Antinol is magic! It really can work that fast.)

Continued thanks for your prayers, your support, your encouragement, your comments and your e-mails. I always love hearing from you and I'm grateful that so many of you are enjoying this blog!

Salaam

Advertisement



8th July 2008

thank you!
Thank you Amy for allowing us to follow your journey. It has been so interesting so far, and I am happy just because of the joy in your entries. Thank you!!

Tot: 0.163s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 9; qc: 48; dbt: 0.121s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb