Adapting


Advertisement
Egypt's flag
Africa » Egypt » Lower Egypt » Cairo
June 19th 2008
Published: June 24th 2008
Edit Blog Post

I wrote this blog last Thursday but just noticed today that I had forgotten to publish it. Enjoy.

In the last year if someone would have asked me what daily annoyance stood out the most for me, I think I would have said the noise. My memory was of a place that was louder than it needed to be with too many honking horns and too many barking dogs, including one dog that barked continually and lived across the street from the seminary.

This year, however, I'm struck by how calm and quiet things seem. It helps that the dog across the street is gone (the answer to everyone's prayers!) As for the rest, I can't decide if the noise is less or if I've already adapted to these surroundings to the point that I don't notice the noise anymore.

It's interesting to watch how the students have adapted as well to their surroundings. Last year the arrival of a female pastor from America was the cause of a week of non-stop questions and conversation. When I preached at morning mass last year the students had to be instructed not laugh and to be respectful and listen to me.

Yesterday I preached again in the mass and it was as if nothing unusual had happened. As the Egyptians love to say, "okay, no problem." There was no concern that perhaps the foundation of the building had cracked. There was no concern that my preaching had invalidated the mass. There was actually critical discussion in one class if I actually communicated what I set out to communicate. This is good.

Many thanks for all your prayers, support and encouragement. I hope you are finding ways to adapt to the life that surrounds you each day as well.



Advertisement



26th June 2008

Way to go Amy
Hey Amy So since there is no barking dog does that mean it died?? Just couldn't resist! It is fun to keep up on your trip, Craig and I are checking every few days and keeping you in our prayers. Your making a difference even if the walls of the chapel are not shifted, at least the thinking of some people has shifted! Be God's, Lisa

Tot: 0.271s; Tpl: 0.027s; cc: 5; qc: 44; dbt: 0.2297s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 4; ; mem: 1.1mb