Saw a lot of big rocks on top of each other today


Advertisement
Egypt's flag
Africa » Egypt » Lower Egypt » Cairo
November 2nd 2005
Published: November 2nd 2005
Edit Blog Post

Ze SphinxZe SphinxZe Sphinx

The real deal!
HEY HEY

Back in action and rearing to go. Alright, so I am in Cairo, Egypt right now. The city of 21 million people that sleep a lot. This town is wicked! Really crazy to say the least, actually it would be better to say "f*****g insane". No really, we arrived from Istanbul at 2 am in the morning to be greeted by a sign at the passport control that said " We welcome you to Egypt. We would like to tell you that in accordance with UN resolution 233 that it is illegal to possess drugs in Egypt. Any foreigner or Egyptian caught in possession will face a life imprisonment and possible death by hanging. We hope you have a nice stay in Egypt" Good thing I left all that cocaine back in Turkey, it was a real toss up whether or not to bring it. Then we catch a taxi, with this gentlemen that had no teeth in his upper gum. His car was quite the spectacle, I tried putting my seat belt on but there was no where to plug it in to. The speedometer did not work, no side view mirrors, a massive rear view mirror
Another tough day in AfricaAnother tough day in AfricaAnother tough day in Africa

My Japanese breakfast. Amazing
and best of all he did not have his bloody lights on at 230 am! The drive there was brilliant, I have never seen anything quite like it. Allow me to remind you that I am from Africa but this took the cake, the freeway had no lanes, people literally did and do as they please on the roads. I saw two cars backing up on the freeway because they missed the exit and oncoming cars swerving out of the way. We had at least 2 near collisions. Donkeys on the street, people riding bicylces. Insane. I swear, crossing pretty much any street in Cairo is better than crack cocaine. You get to the other side and you give praise to Allah for his kindness.
Staying in a very nice hotel, really amazing. I can see the pyramids from my balcony. A bit of a change from 13 people hostel rooms with the smell of dirty laundry constantly wafting in the air.
Went to Memphis, sakara, and the Giza pyramids today. Incredible. We had an Egyptologist take us around and explain everything. We went inside the Great pyramid of Cheops to his funerary chamber. Saw the Step pyramid in sakara,
CairoCairoCairo

Oh there is a lot of smog here!
the sphinx, the colossal statue of Ramses 2, the solar boat that would take Cheops to the after world, and so much more. I am so damn lucky!
Going to this massive party tent tonight with Adam and the lovely Addie, it is the last night of Ramadan and the party kicks off in full force tomorrow night. We are on the VIP list at this swanky club called Sangria, should be a blast. I'll be sure to put on my dancing shoes!
Oh I know how to say, hello, good bye, how much, thanks and go away in Arabic. Flip Arabic is hard. Look at this.
÷ مخرث غخع ٍشةز
÷ شة اعىل مهنث ش ؤشةثمز /خخنهىل بخةقصشقي فخ سخعفا شبقهؤش
I just wrote that I am happy and that I am hung like a camel.

Saw a lot of camels today.

Ma'as Samlem



Additional photos below
Photos: 8, Displayed: 8


Advertisement

Hello and welcome to EgyptHello and welcome to Egypt
Hello and welcome to Egypt

I guess my cocaine addiction is going to have to take a back seat for now!
KikiKiki
Kiki

Just some girl I am hooking up with, she has been travelling with me since Slovenia.
The pyramids of GizaThe pyramids of Giza
The pyramids of Giza

My entire life I have heard and seen the pyramids on TV and in books and today I saw them with my own eyes and touched them with my own two hands.
what do you think?·what do you think?·
what do you think?·

Right, it is definitely right.
The cafe I am in right nowThe cafe I am in right now
The cafe I am in right now

35 US cents an hour, 2 Egyptian pounds


2nd November 2005

It looks so amazing Lloyd. I'm jealous. And just for the record- I would probably leave you for Kiki too. She's beautiful. Love you!

Tot: 0.28s; Tpl: 0.012s; cc: 15; qc: 65; dbt: 0.0784s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.2mb