Unfinished and Uninteresting But I Must Move On......


Advertisement
Egypt's flag
Africa » Egypt » Lower Egypt » Cairo
February 28th 2008
Published: March 5th 2008
Edit Blog Post

RAAAAAAARRRRRRRAAAAAAARRRRRRRAAAAAAARRRRRR

...yeah, we cuddled.
With school beginning to crack down and get a bit more involved, my friends and I decided to stay in Cairo last weekend, but we did have some notable experiences. The Giza Zoo is about a 15 minute cab ride from our apartment and although we had heard warnings about the condition of the zoo a few of us decided we had to check it out. A 17 year old Egyptian boy is in one of my friend's classes and came with us. We were definitely lucky to have an Egyptian along. He was of course a really nice kid and took care of the employees milking us for money. We got into the zoo for Egyptian prices, which I believe turned out to be only about 5 pounds (about 1 dollar) for all 10 of us! The zoo was relatively clean, with families running all over with zoo toys and painted faces. It felt slightly as though there were just multiple compounds with the same animals over and over again. Although I had been warned, I was slightly shocked to see a small dirt pen with several hungry looking zebras in it. They seemed to just try to fit as
ROOOOOAAAAAARRRRRRRROOOOOAAAAAARRRRRRRROOOOOAAAAAARRRRRRR

...no, we didn't cuddle.
many animals as they could in to as small a space as they could. I didn't take any pictures, something about it just didn't feel right. A photographer man led us to the back of the small lion pen and let us into a little room that had 3 cubbies covered by bars which held within them 3 female lions. Looking into the eyes so close of a lion was absolutely terrifying. I squealed a couple times. They heavily sedate the lions and then let them out for the public to touch and hang out with. After they locked us in this little pen (...terrifying...) they let one groggy looking female lion out, had it sit and then told each one of us to come sit by it for a picture. With this, a few of the girls get out of there with a quickness. As you can imagine though, I stayed and got a horrifying picture taken with my hand on a lion. My conscious hurt of course but I bought a really hardcore picture of me petting a lion. Perhaps worth the mental anguish??

Advertisement



10th March 2008

conditions at the zoo
I bet you really had mixed emotions about the conditions of the lions, but yet getting to touch one is amazing.

Tot: 0.065s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 10; qc: 29; dbt: 0.025s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb