Camel ride


Advertisement
Egypt's flag
Africa » Egypt » Lower Egypt » Cairo
January 21st 2008
Published: January 21st 2008
Edit Blog Post

Camel RideCamel RideCamel Ride

Scream on the way up and hang on until your thighs ache otherwise you'll land on your head.
"Aunt Jenny, are you in the desert?" asked my niece.
"I will be," I said.
"Can you bring me a pyramid? Can you bring me a camel? Can you bring me a mummy?"
How's a 5-yr-old know so much about Egypt?
"Scooby Doo was in Egypt," she said.
"I guess I'll have to search for Scooby."

On my search for Scooby, I unexpectedly rode a camel.

"Miss, miss," said the camel driver, "have your picture taken with the camel. Don't be afraid, just sit on the camel."
"Sit, that's all I want to do. No riding. OK?"
"Don't worry, no riding," he promised.
As the camel rider whipped a long scarf from the camel's pouch and twisted it around my head, all I could think, was... oh, no I'm going to get lice from this camel turban. Lice, lice....
"Ahhhhhhh," I screamed as my body jolted forward and my head neared the ground when the camel raised his rear legs and stood.
"Put me down! Put me down!" I screamed. Was he going to lead me into the desert and charge me some hideous amount?
"Jen, smile, put your arm up. You may as well get some photos," said
SmileSmileSmile

Smile, before the camel driver takes you into the desert forever.
Steve, a travel mate.
So, I smiled and got my photo....
More to come.



Advertisement



Tot: 0.07s; Tpl: 0.016s; cc: 9; qc: 44; dbt: 0.0404s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb