End of my Middle Eastern Adventure


Advertisement
Egypt's flag
Africa » Egypt » Lower Egypt » Cairo
September 27th 2007
Published: September 27th 2007
Edit Blog Post

Chruch of the holy SeplicureChruch of the holy SeplicureChruch of the holy Seplicure

This marble slab is where it is said Jesus was laid after his death. People Kiss it and lay their gifts on it for a blessing. So this is what I am doing.
So my middle eastern adventure is coming to an end. I've just spent my last Egyptian pounds in the big market Karnel Kelily (can't spell but that is kind of how it sounds)

Since leaving my job in Dahab I went up to Israel for ten days. Then came back to Dahab to meet my Parents they have just done a trip of Turkey and Egypt. I was so taken by Israel and a Palestinian family that I took mum and dad back up to Israel with me. We ended up staying with my Palestinian Friends for three days and had a fascinating time. Iede the father took us to Hebron and we could still feel the tension in the city. there was a strong military presence and locals where telling us that streets are still closed and Israeli's have taken houses. It was a bit scary at times but very exciting and the first place that I felt I had to cover my head with a scarf.


Mum and dad where great especially when I didn't organize the bus back to Egypt very well and got us all to the bus stop for a 12pm bus that
ChurchChurchChurch

This is the area Saint Helina said Jesus' cross was put in the ground. The church of the holy Seplicure is the main Christian church in Jerusalem. One time I was in the church and A Coptic and a Creek orthodox service was happening at the same time. Very busy when you add the tourist passing through as well.
didn't exist. Oops.

Mum has the best photos from this trip with them but here are a few form my first visit.


Additional photos below
Photos: 15, Displayed: 15


Advertisement

Dome of the rockDome of the rock
Dome of the rock

It was pretty beautiful and really dominated Jerusalem's Old city view
St Helena RdSt Helena Rd
St Helena Rd

I don't have my book with me but St Helena was a christain (the mother of the ruler of the time) She came to Jerusalem and found all the sites were important things happened to Jesus
Wailing WallWailing Wall
Wailing Wall

One of the Jewish Religion's most important places. I sat in the women's section to about an hour it was very moving.
So closeSo close
So close

The dome of the rock pretty much sits on top of the wailing wall. All the Old city was like this different religions so close together.
Dinner with my Palestinian friendsDinner with my Palestinian friends
Dinner with my Palestinian friends

This family opened their home to me and then mum and dad.
Mum and DadMum and Dad
Mum and Dad

Very tired after hiking up Mt Saini but still enjoying the sunrise. They got up the mountain faster than me!
HebronHebron
Hebron

On the middle left is an Ireali building, it was surrounded with security cameras and bunkers.
Two Mosques and crazy CairoTwo Mosques and crazy Cairo
Two Mosques and crazy Cairo

Just in Cairo for two days waiting for my flight to Thailand. Bring on good food and rain forest. Yhaa
Let me show youLet me show you
Let me show you

Showing a local box designer how its done
MarketsMarkets
Markets

I was invited by some shop keepers for "breakfast" the meal that is eaten when they break their day long fast at about 6pm. It was great I sat next to a lady in a full burker so got to see how she ate with out showing her face. She was a real character as well but I didn't get a picture.


Tot: 0.091s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 9; qc: 61; dbt: 0.0629s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.2mb