Cairo


Advertisement
Egypt's flag
Africa » Egypt » Lower Egypt » Cairo
March 31st 2007
Published: March 31st 2007
Edit Blog Post

This morning I was supposed to meet with Salma (a niece of my Mom's Egyptian coworker) at 10am, so I got up around 9am. I ate a few crackers and read and watched tv. I still hadn't heard from her at 11:30am, so I called. I think I woke her up. She asked if I would be free around 6pm, but my Contiki meeting is at 7pm, so I told her no. She said she'd call back and we hung up. About 15 minutes later she called back and said she would meet me in the lobby of the hotel around 1:15pm. I get dressed and head up to the lobby around 1:20pm. She and a friend (Sherine) show up close to 2pm. While I was waiting I tried to get som money from the ATM since I'm low on funds, but the ATM wouldn't work. I'm glad they're taking me somewhere so maybe I can get some money. We end up going to the new mall in Cairo - it's nice!!! It's like a mall in the US, but bigger!!! We wandered around for awhile and then ate lunch at Cilantro - a cafe - and then wandered some more. We left around 5pm and went to some relative's flat - all sorts of relatives showed up. They were very nice and kept trying to feed me. We didn't stay too long b/c it would take a while to get back to the hotel and I didn't want to miss the meeting. I got back to the hotel around 6:30pm and met my roommate - Kate. I realized I'd left my sunglasses in the car, and they ended up driving them back to me. The meeting at 7pm lasted a while and we sort of met each other. After the meeting a few of us had dinner by the pool and then Kate and I went to bed.

Advertisement



Tot: 0.139s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 10; qc: 48; dbt: 0.0862s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb