My Attorney, Bernie


Advertisement
Burkina Faso's flag
Africa » Burkina Faso » Centre » Ouagadougou
October 11th 2006
Published: October 11th 2006
Edit Blog Post

Bernie 1Bernie 1Bernie 1

Here he is, sitting in my lap. He's a bit skinny still... but handsome!
Hi everyone
Well, I'm pleased to finally make the appropriate introductions. As many of my faithful readership already know, I've been gradually expropriating the cat that hangs around my friend's house here, and I finally succeeded in bringing him home. Brad got shipped off to Mali for an undetermined amount of time, so we agreed that my place would be the best place for the little kitty. I finally have custody of my baby!!!! 😊

*I realize I'm one of those crazy Cat Ladies now, so we can all shake our heads in unison*

So, please allow me to present the newest member of the family: Bernie.
He's about a year old (we think) and he's a very sweet boy. He loves cuddles and has a very soft coat. He even comes when you call him, so take THAT dog lovers!

When I first brought him over to the villa, he didn't seem to happy to be in the car but he just meowed softly and didn't try to claw anyone's eyes out or anything, so that's good. Once we brought him inside the garden wall, he quickly found a way to escape. Drat. So I spent the
Bernie 2Bernie 2Bernie 2

Still in my lap, with his tongue out for the camera. Real nice!
next half hour trying to coax him down from the wall and convince him not to jump over and run into the street. You could tell he was very scared and I started to doubt whether or not this was a good idea at all... I stayed with him in the garden all afternoon, trying to keep him from running away by talking to him, and assuring him that his mummy was here and everything was fine. Eventually he started to get comfortable (still up on the wall) and I decided it was safe to go inside and have a shower since I had plans to go out that night. While I was gone, he managed to get himself down from the wall and hide in the bushes, so I figured he'd decided to stay. When I came home, he was still there, so I went to sleep just hoping he would stay the night.

I woke up in the morning, and there was no sign of him. No amount of calling or food would bring him to me, and I started to panic over the innumerable harms that could have befallen him. What if he got hit in
Bernie 3Bernie 3Bernie 3

Just like a man... walking around like he owns the joint!
the road? What if he got lost trying to go back to his old house? What if the neighbour dogs chased him? What if there was a big storm and it rained and he was trapped somewhere all by himself and scared? What if some locals decided he was lunch (this is not impossible; I've heard of people here eating cat)?

Anyway, after a worry-filled day, I came home to find Bernie comfortably sitting in the garden as though everything were normal. I guess he sat with the guard for evening prayer (they blare through the speakers of the nearby mosque). Apparently my cat is Muslim. Anyway, I was delighted he was ok, and he came when I called him like all the drama from the day before was forgotten. Thank goodness cats have small brains!

So now we've fallen into quite a nice routine. When I wake up in the morning, Bernie is already gone ouy (playing with his friends, I presume) and stays gone the entire day no matter how much food you put out. In the evening, he is always there waiting for me when I get home from work. I put some food in his dish, and I heat up my dinner while he's eating. After I'm done eating, I bring him into the house with me so he can sit on my lap while I watch rugby on TV. He never moves or explores; he just wants to cuddle.

His name (in case you are wondering) is from the Blossom Dearie jazz song "My Attorney, Bernie".

Anyway, sorry for all the crazy Cat Lady talk. I promise to limit it to one cat, not fifty. The pics were a bit awkward because he'll only sit still while you're cuddling him, so I was taking one-handed shots without looking through the lense. I did my best!

-Brownie
PS Thanks Ma, for sending over the treats. He loves them!

Advertisement



11th October 2006

welcome to the Crazy Cat Lady Club
Gremlin (aka Cuddle Slut), LP, and Phoenix all say "meow" from Ottawa. He's cute.
11th October 2006

DFGCCW
Oh God this is just too good...not only are you daytimer freak girl but now you are crazy cat woman! They should make a comic strip about you! oh this is too good! makes me seem a little less crazy...maybe that's why I like hanging out with you...I 'm the normal one..well of us two anyways! Take care DFGCCW(Daytimer Freak Girl Crazy Cat Woman!) love h/f xoxo
11th October 2006

Sulu's brother?
Wow, Linds, does he EVER look like Sulu! It's pretty amazing. He's so cute! I'm glad it's all working out for you and that he's decided to adpot you. :o) Big Hugs, Jackie Oh!
12th October 2006

well...... Linds, I have to admit that I'm a little concerned... a smart girl like you and you pick up a cat???? oh, wait...you are a smart girl!!!!!!! cats Rule! men Drool... Sulu says hi xoxox mom

Tot: 0.042s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 7; qc: 23; dbt: 0.023s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1mb