Wells and books


Advertisement
Burkina Faso's flag
Africa » Burkina Faso » Centre » Ouagadougou
October 10th 2006
Published: October 10th 2006
Edit Blog Post

Rig 1Rig 1Rig 1

This is what a drill rig looks like! A certain kind anyway.
Hey everybody
I hope you're all well. Now that the fun and games of vacation are over, it's all work, work, work again!

So we ran the much-awaited well drilling program in the rural communities last week. It was a logistical nightmare but somehow we managed it. Unfortunately, the geo-physics were a bit misleading and we only got one positive point out of the three we drilled. That means only one of the three villages will get a new well. This is pretty disappointing considering our high hopes for the project, but just like we say in the biz "Mother Nature doesn't give you gold every day"; apparently she doesn't give you water every day either. So we're making the best of it, trying to use the money to build latrines at the schools who didn't get wells. But that means we have to write a whole new budget and proposal for the new activities... I'm SO glad I have an assistant now! 😊 Even though he's not staying permanently, I've been given the ok to hire someone full-time once he's gone, and that is a big relief. This job has become very management-oriented, which I felt funny about at
Rig 2Rig 2Rig 2

Here they are installing the PVC.
first since I am here to learn. But really, I'm still learning, and once I'm not so busy I will have time to learn the things I need to learn ("so how do you calculate the amount of PVC required per meter for a well?").

While we were in the field for the drill program, we also gave out school supplies to the local schools in the area. They were all really happy and showed up to say thanks to us. It was a great feeling to know we were helping in a tangible way, even though it breaks all the rules of sustainable development. The teachers took the opportunity to remind us of the continued need for benches and a new roof. I guess the need will always be greater than what we can provide, but we've done something meaningful anyway.

Well, that's all for now. Not much news to report. I hope you're all doing well, and let me now how Canada (and elsewhere) is treating you!

xo
-Brownie



Additional photos below
Photos: 5, Displayed: 5


Advertisement

Handing over the goodsHanding over the goods
Handing over the goods

Here I am with the principal at one of the schools, doing the symbolic "handing over" of the supplies. As you can see, our corporate shirts are not very flattering.
Waving groupWaving group
Waving group

There's me at another school, with all the kids waving to say thanks.
Clapping groupClapping group
Clapping group

The waving quickly turned to clapping. As you can see, I'm very amused by this and laughing like a hyena.


11th October 2006

Hiya Hunny!
Glad to hear that you get a F/T assistant... would I fit the resume? ;) drop me a line sweetie
12th October 2006

We really look forward to your Blogs. Keep them coming we think your just great for what your doing.

Tot: 0.1s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 7; qc: 61; dbt: 0.0725s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.2mb